G.A.Y.

When I first asked what GAY, as in homosexual, stemmed from, I was told it was from some of the early Gay Rights marches in the USA, where marchers bore banners stating “Good As You”. It shocked me at the time and still does. Why on earth should someone have to march to declare they were as good as me? Of course they were.  As a teenager in the 1960’s I was as prejudiced as the next man/woman because I’d been brought up that way – most of us were. I don’t know when my thinking changed but for many of us seeing how the black population had to fight for their rights led to a more realistic attitude to the world in general and to accepting our differences.

So this week’s Diva Challenge took me back to when I marched for Civil Rights; sang the songs; wrote the poems; joined the debate because:

This week (before the back pain) i was contacted by a very well spoken young man who sent me a really well written email.  
His name is Daniel, and he is 12 years old.  Hello Daniel! 
Daniel told me that October 11th is National Coming Out Day.  Daniel’s friend is gay, and so he wanted me to help him support his friend and to issue a challenge with a LGBT theme. 
Daniel says:

I think it would be a good way to further inspire tanglers and raise awareness if you considered a challenge to somehow put some aspect of LGBT in a tile. Perhaps using the colors of the rainbow, or using tangles that start with L, G, B, and T, or using those letters as a string? 

Surely we don’t STILL need to raise awareness?  Hasn’t the world moved on at all?  Are we still the same closed minded, unthinking lumps we were before the world woke up to embrace our differences?

So I rushed to do this tile and it shows. I wanted to be first to say:

“Good as me?  you better believe it.!”

Started with a rainbow string, for obvious reasons. Sunrays shining through, equally obvious.
Started with a rainbow string, for obvious reasons. Sunrays shining through, equally obvious.

Patterns used:Jessicup, Piza, Jalousie, Roscos, Paradox, Diva Dance, CBun and Heartrope.

18 thoughts on “G.A.Y.

  1. Love your blog post. Yes, we are still the same lumps with different targets for our prejudices. Very nice tile, and thank you for your thoughts on the issue.

  2. love your rainbow inspired tile – I didn’t know that was where Gay came from – the things you learn from tangling! neat-o.

  3. I’ll raise my hand here as another person you have educated about the derivation of the acronym “Gay”. My tile came out pretty subdued and somber, perhaps because — you know — “….we still [ are]the same closed minded, unthinking lumps we were …..” In fact, we may even be back-sliding. I have an uneasy feeling that antisemitism is again rearing it’s ugly head in Europe, Russia has backslid in its acceptance of the LGBT community, equating being gay with pedophilia on an official level—and we won’t even mention Uganda.

  4. Great Challenge Post. Love your Tile. The center core of your Rainbow is beautifully done. Very nice selection of Patterns. I learned some new ones. Your entire tile is so balanced and beautifully shaded. Well done.

    1. Thanks for your words in this post and the explanation, because I didn’t know too. Your tile is quite balanced and beautiful!

  5. Your tile is beautiful. And thank you so much for the derivation of G-A-Y. That’s one reason I love these challenges…there is always something new to learn

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.