The sky is falling!

And it’s wet.  If it isn’t falling, it’s emptying itself all over us. There’s no wonder Brits have a reputation for being fixated on the weather, we get so much of it. This week we have had sunshine, fog, rain, sometimes together.  And at the moment, we have rain of three varieties. As a sort of background, we have constant, cold drizzle of the sort that creeps down your neck and makes you shiver. Coming in flurries with the gusts of wind, there are what we laughingly call “heavy showers”, which come diagonally and get under your umbrella, which you are holding very tightly because of said gusts of wind attempting to blow it inside out. And then there is the downpour, delivering the coup de grace, vertical rods of water that actually hurt your head if you’re daft enough to let it be exposed. In this area, we call that type of rain “stair rods” because the apparent stream of water coming down in such disciplined lines reminds us, or reminded our parents, to be more exact, of the brass rods that used to be on every step of a staircase, holding down the carpet.

So there, a dissertation on English rain. Fascinating conversationalists, aren’t we?  Why am I writing about the rain? Because it’s Thanksgiving in Canada so there’s no Diva Challenge until tomorrow. Damn!

 

However, I have been drawing, with varying degrees of success.

I called this Finkelled because it's a straight "borrow from something I saw Joanne fink do.
I called this Finkelled because it’s a straight “borrow” from something I saw Joanne Fink do. Using Promarker pens and Pigma Microns.
this is going to be a Christmas gift for a friend and she doesn't read my blog so it will be a surprise.
This is going to be a Christmas gift for a friend and she doesn’t read my blog so it will be a surprise. Using Pigma microns, Promarker pens and Gelly Rolls.
I just like this one. simple and it worked - they sometimes do.
I just like this one, simple and it worked – they sometimes do. Just Pigma Micron and graphite pencil.
Did this as a demo fro a friend and it's my daughter's initial with her husband's and then their son's between them.
Did this as a demo for a friend and it’s my daughter’s initial with her husband’s and then their son’s between them. Pigma Micron, water colour pencils, Promarker pens and some old felt tip pens that were lying around at the time.
this was a protest. I often work through lunch because I get bored. (I'm frequently in a room on my own so boredom comes easily.) So I decided to doodle instead. coloured it at home with Promarkers and quite liked the finished product.
This was a protest. I often work through lunch because I get bored. (I’m frequently in a room on my own so boredom comes easily.) So I decided to doodle instead. I coloured it at home with Promarkers and quite liked the finished product.

 

I posted at least one of these on Facebook and then trawled through, looking at various groups and enjoying things people had posted. Right up until I came across a long thread where someone appeared to be having a hissy fit because of the Zentangle label/ethos. Basically, as far as she was concerned, she was doodling, always had, always would and didn’t see how anyone could copyright it. and she was clearly angry about it. Fair enough, she’s entitled to an opinion, although I can’t help feeling if she’d read up a bit more about ZT she would have spotted what is and what isn’t copyright and saved herself some grief.

And boy had she wound up a storm? I would say that it came from both sides of the argument but there appear to be about 102 sides to this one. There were the deeply righteous ones who wanted to defend ZT to the death, prepared to be martyrs if called upon. There were the “I won’t be told what to do” brigade and there were quite a few, like me, who said, call it what you like, join what you like, draw what you like and share what you like.  And there was  every shade of opinion in between.  What I didn’t get, was how angry people seemed to be. As if ZT was infringing their civil liberties. I mean, come on, if you don’t like it, don’t join it but you don’t have to spoil it for the people who do want to join.

For me, Zentangle is a friendly community of people who are prepared to buy into a gentle philosophy of disciplined creativity. I like being part of that community. The “rules” only restrict me if I let them. I like to do other things too and if the ZT mindset isn’t appropriate, I put it off for a while.  I’d love, oh how I’d love to go to Rhode Island and train as a CZT but I can’t justify the expense. (And I might not be the right material – I can only work within the rules so long and I do have tendency to take the Mickey now and then.) But in the end, the pleasure I have had since I “discovered” Zentangle has been enormous and I am grateful for it.

5 thoughts on “The sky is falling!

  1. Well said! I, too, would love to take the course but it’s way too pricey! I also embrace your stand of, take what you want, leave the rest! There’s so many individuals out there that just live in a whirlwind of negativity! Glad I don’t live there and glad I surround myself with positive blogs that reinforce my position! Thanks for writing!! Lauri (Windkissed)

    >

  2. Your protest tangle is gorgeous! I am fairly new, and addicted, to tangling as well as beginning to learn to use watercolors. I only occasionally post my results sincecthey ‘aren’t ready for prime time’.

    Is the background a watercolor wash? Did you do that first or after tangling and penning the rest?

    I’m like you – class might be awesome, but way too pricey and I usually don’t ‘fit’ for very long in any class !

    1. Hi Sammy, thanks for looking and reading. The background and colouring was all done with Promarker pens after I’d done the drawing. I actually coloured the whole thing in a pale yellow and then went over the leaves, flowers and stems in darker shades.

Leave a Reply

