Eyes Bigger Than…

Two starter tiles from Stephanie Drewa.

In the Dark Ages, or, as my Mum would have said, “When I were a lass…”, if we were greedy, one or other of the grandparents would shake their head and murmur, ” Eeeeh, I don’t know, eyes bigger than your belly, that’s what you have…”  and we would either be refused the extra portion or, with a rueful sigh, it would be served to us with the rider; “And you eat every scrap of that.” They would then watch to see if we actually could eat it all and share knowing glances if we appeared to be struggling. And of course they were often right and I can remember quite a few Sunday teatimes marred by the need to force that piece of cake down, ruining the pleasure of the entire meal, rather than admit defeat.

From Jolanda Baan

And why did we take that little trip down Memory Lane, back to my not so deprived childhood teas in The Old Homestead in Wombwell?  (I kid you not, that was the name of the house my Grandma and Grandad lived in. It was in a terrace of four mock Tudor houses in a mucky pit town and nothing like any homestead I could imagine but that was its name.) Because, all these years later, I still do it and I’ve just done it again. Nowadays it’s less likely to be food, of course – my portion control is still questionable but I can leave what I don’t eat without too much of a guilty conscience and no-one pointing the finger and saying sententiously,  “There are children in Africa who’d be grateful for that.”, which may be true but isn’t helpful.

I didn’t draw this but I saw it on google and it was soooo right.
I think this one is from Rhoda Roy in Canada, but she didn’t put her name on the tile itself and, organisational nitwit that i am, I put it in with a couple of others …

But I still take on more than I can manage in other ways and, in particular, with hobbies. (Not, and indeed, never with housework. Never that! The vacuum cleaner backs away if I open the cupboard because it’s been taught not to talk to strangers.)

And at the moment I am deeply involved in crochet. I am working on:

a blanket for my granddaughter – single bed size. about six inches to go

two toys for a friend of my daughter who is having twins. (The friend, not the daughter.) One almost complete, ready to be stuffed and one not even started. (The toys, not the twins)

a circular waistcoat/jacket for me, which I am going to un-pick back about fifteen rows because I don’t like how sort of frilly it’s getting.

and I have plans for a shawl, another blanket, this one for my grandson, more toys and a cloche hat, also for me, maybe, not sure, I don’t suit hats.

From Mary Dewick in the UK

Then there are the two Zentangle swap groups I’m involved with – Zentangle Artist Trading Cards and Travelling Tangles, both on Facebook. I currently need to draw five tiles on a Summer theme for the former, although it’s a long deadline, so they are on the back burner at the moment.  And I have received tiles, started by other members, which I am to complete and then post the results online. (I’ve scattered them about this post for your delectation and delight.) No deadline on that, and I vacillate between longing to get started and the dread of ruining what they have sent me.

Days 9 and 11 of the journal

And then there’s this bloody journal that I have started with another Facebook group – Zentangle, Tangled and Journalled too. I have committed myself to doing a small tile every day for all of June, July and August, based on prompts they post online each week.

Day 19, a Zendala, not on a Bjou, this one but a proper Zendala size tile.

Now I have the time management skills of a newt, so this is already proving difficult. I notice other people do the tiles, pop them in a journal, or draw tile shapes in said journal, one for each prompt and the job’s a good ‘un. Me? Don’t be daft.  I chose to do Bijou tiles, which are nice and small, and stick them in quite a large book (8″ square, I think) and then decorate the pages around the tiles. So, instead of doing a two inch square every day, I find myself trying to then do a further eight inch square too.   I quickly adapted and put more than one tile on each page but, even so, it’s a lot.

We were supposed to write on text but I’m was an English teacher – it’s tantamount to sacrelige. So I printed off a verse from Leonard Cohen and drew in the spaces. Also not on bijou. I stick to my own rules only as and when I want to!

Don’t get me wrong, nobody makes me do this. There isn’t a Zengauleiter person writing my name calligraphically into a beautifully decorated weighty tome, who carries a big stick  to come round and beat me- one stroke at a time, of course, but I’ve posted online that I will do it, so I sort of have to do it. The loved one says it’s masochism and watches another episode of Last of the Summer wine while I try to draw, crochet, scribble just that bit faster.

 

Days 10, 11 and 12

Hey ho. Oh, and the Diva Challenge. It’s just one tile once a week but of course I write chapter and verse to go with it, don’t I?  I write like I talk, so, as my friends and family will confirm, once I’ve started, there’s no stopping me. But ,although I no longer do the Challenge religiously every week, it is what prompts me to write and post most weeks, so I’m thankful for it.  Of course, there may be those of you who feel the Diva has, therefore, a lot to answer for!

It’s a guest Challenger each week through the Summer – wonder what the next one will be… Anf it’s Elisa Murphy setting the Challenge.

Finally!  This week’s challenge!  Your challenge this week is to draw a monotangle of “Nzeppel, but it doesn’t stop there.  I challenge you to go beyond the pen and tap into that Zentangley Mindfulness.  Think about when you last felt like you didn’t fit in or think about someone you care about who’s feeling that way right now.  As you draw and watch your tangle grow and evolve notice how your thoughts do too.  Maybe it softens.  Maybe it gives you pause to think things through.  Maybe use the back of your tile to jot down random thoughts. Hopefully you get lost in the relaxed focus of the process.  At the end of the day, that’s what Zentangle is all about.

Well, I love Nzeppel, so this was fun. In fact I’m going to add a border to this atc and send it as one of the swaps at the end of the month.

Plain and simple on a background daubed in muted pink and grey, using Reticula R42 .

And there let it end for this week, world. Until we meet again, be good-ish. (AS I will myself, of course.)

8 thoughts on “Eyes Bigger Than…

  1. Well, at least you multi-tasked on the Diva tile since you’ve resolved to use it in a swap. As you know, I also use the challenge as grist for my blogging mill. Although I am happy spending many hours alone (it’s just me and the dog for the next 3 days), I learned that you are easy company, having chatted with you for 7 hours straight when we met up in Birmingham last September. The amount of crocheting, crafting and tangling you have assigned yourself is quite staggering. I suspect that crochet can induce a meditative state much as Zentangle can—-assuming one is not watching political news on cable TV as I am (ugh) or chattering away, as it sounds like you are. Meanwhile, I’m trying to motivate myself to get up and go for a walk on the beach, so I can tell myself I’m “goodish”.

    1. The idea of being able to walk on the beach whenever the moods takes you, really does appeal to me. I read your post about school sports day… I did laugh but it was a sympathetic laugh, truly it was.

  2. Thank you once more for another delightful read as I reflect on all there is to do on my Zentangle to do list . Your journal continues to amaze me:-)

  3. It’s nice to read of someone else who bites off more than they can chew. My theory is that I can’t die if I still have things to do. Of course, my husband’s theory is that there must be more money to spend if we still have checks. Off topic, I suppose, but your post was such a lovely read and got me thinking of strange things, LOL! Nice tile. I like the random red you added.

Leave a Reply

