A Touch of the Simon and Garfunkels

I may add a little shade to this to tone it down a bit. Can anyone remember the name of the pattern in purple? I love it but can’t remember what it’s called. Doh!

Gee but it’s great to be back home…

is what started the S&G link because, although we go away a lot and enjoy our visits to foreign fields, it is good to be home, sleeping in my own bed and snuggling back into normal life.

However, both the loved one and I got weighed this morning and it wasn’t good for either of us. Forget “He ain’t heavy…”,  he is and so am I. Bugger, time to start being sensible again. So, when you add this to the fact that my new phone has a step counter on it, which threatens to hold a celebration if I go over 2000 steps, you can see that there is something of a fitness issue at Castle Maggibee. (Some days it never gets above two, since it lives on my bedside table and, if I’m not going out, there it stays.)

Still, I’ve done 6000 steps today and it asked for time off to recover from the shock…

It looks less like a bowler – derby across the pond – when it’s on but I was no way going to model it.

I’m up to the eyes in yarn at present, making hats is the latest craze, cloche hats, very 1920s. And a bag to go with one of them. I’ve used extremely bright rainbow yarn, as they are to be given as prizes in the Milly Johnson launch on Friday and one of the themes of the new book is the rainbow.

 

 

 

Clearly unfinished. It’ll be a small satchel when complete.

I’m also doing a ZIA but, although I’ve started several, I’m not happy with any of them, so, unless I get a flurry of inspiration in the next day or two, the hats will have to do. I made the bag up as I went along, so it’s less than perfect but will look better with a handle and a button fastener.

The first hat I did is much more subtle in its use of colour but the style of the bright one works better.

 

 

It looks better than this really, honest it does.

And then it was suddenly Diva Day and it’s UMT time, with the pattern being Scallamps.

Weekly Challenge #314: “UMT: Scallamps – by Sarah Uram CZT”

For those of you who are new, the first Monday of every month is a Use My Tangle Challenge, where the challenge of the week is to use a tangle created by one of you!  If you have a tangle you’d like to submit you can add it here and be sure that it follows the guidelines for submission.
This month’s UMT is Scallamps by Sarah Uram and you can see the step outs here 

Not too difficult and quite a nice finish. As it happens, the swap I am doing at the moment uses String 034, (You can see one of them at the top of the page.) so I adapted it for both the Challenge and the swap. It’s a Spring/floral theme but I wasn’t too keen on this one, added a bit of background colour and liked it better but it still needs something.

Not happy with this yet but…
Better with a coloured background?

 

(Probably starting over!)

 

 

 

 

Waiting for shading and colour.

And this is another swap tile in progress, awaiting shading and colour and using String 032. I’m enjoying this one, so it’s going better. So, to waste no more time, I’m off the finish this, do a couple more and maybe a rainbow one for Milly – all before teatime!

Until we meet again, my dearios, be good-ish.

 

12 thoughts on “A Touch of the Simon and Garfunkels

  1. My favorite of the hats is also the last one, that is such a sweet one,
    Your scallamps are drawn in a beautiful orignal way, I like both results, it is hard to choose.

  2. They say you should do 10.000 (YES TEN THOUSAND) steps a day. I never achieved that, even 5000 is hardly doable for me 🙂 But …. let’s keep trying! I like the hats and your Diva tile!!!

  3. You always make me giggle! Love the colours and the tiles and the hats and the words. And the song references…hope you can ‘keep on running’…or as near as you feel like doing that. Then you can go away and enjoy putting it all back on again. That’s the plan, isn’t it? I really love your fine shining lines on Scallamps…may just be coping those in my own work, if that’s OK. Axxx

Leave a Reply

