Another Quickie!

We’re off in pastures sunny again, so both the wifi and I are a little unreliable at present.  But I am sitting under a parasol, on a sunny terrace, overlooking the sea. I have sent the loved one and our friend off for a walk -but really so I can sit and draw without feeling rude and/or guilty.

Not a lot to show you, as we have been very sociable this week.  The alcohol quotient has risen significantly – the buggers keep coming round and offering it and it would be rude not to. Someone, possibly the loved one, suggested it wouldn’t happen if we didn’t go in the bars in the first place  but I don’t feel inclined to put it to the test.

Anyway, you have to keep hydrated in these temperatures…

I like the Diva Challenge this week and I see a lot of other people do too. I haven’t looked at any yet, saving it as a treat.  So we’re celebrating Amanda Day -see the Diva blog for more detail- and I started by drawing a freehand circle for my Earth. A bit wobbly but I blame the pen, as no alcohol has passed my lips so far today. No, really.

Said pen is not my usual Micron, but a gel pen and it doesn’t respond to the surface of the paper, but glides too easily over it, which I don’t like much.  But it is what it is . Lesson learned, Maggibee will stick to her usual pens in future.  I used patterns beginning with A for Amanda ; Abeko, African Artist and A-Dalfa. I like all three and must try to remember them when next I am seeking inspiration.

So, for now, here is my less than perfect response to the Challenge, folowed by a fond farewll. Until next time, world, be good-ish.

8 thoughts on “Another Quickie!

  1. The promised recipe for Hot Water Cornbread.
    1 cup cornmeal
    1/4 cup flour
    3/4 cup sugar
    pinch of salt
    1 egg
    Boiling water

    1. Bring 2 cups of water to a boil in small sauce pan
    2. Mix dry ingredients together in a bowl. Mix until there are no lumps and bumps.
    3. Add boiling water slowly, a little at a time to dry ingredients, to make a thick paste. Be careful not to add too much water.
    4. Once you have a thick paste add your egg and mix until incorporated.
    5. In the same sauce pan that you boiled your water, dry completly, then add about 1/2 inch of vegetable oil.
    6. Drop spoonfuls of mixture into hot oil and cook until browned on both sides.

    I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

