The New Look

  1. I got a bit ambitious and decided to update my blog. Not being all that skilled with these things, it was a bit of a trial for me but I’m not unhappy with the finished look, at least for now.

I’ve been making quite a few cards recently: three or four birthdays and, horribly, some sympathy cards. We’ve had three funerals in a month and there’s another one to come. Two of them were very elderly and frail and, sad though these things always are, it felt right to be saying a fond goodbye. The other two were much younger and that most definitely does NOT seem right.  Knowing that sometimes life isn’t fair or right is no consolation at all and I rail at the unfairness of it all. To no avail, of course, but I still have  to have my tantrum.

The various arts and crafts have been a great help and I have been working on a shawl/scarf, just because it is a complicated pattern and I have to concentrate.  My older daughter wants a baby blanket for a friend, so I’ve started that too. The doll is still unfinished but only because I have been busy with other things. Just out of curiosity, am I the only one who starts half a dozen projects and ricochets from one to the other like a pinball machine?

For one thing, I really need to get my swaps up to date and posted. I had fun with the stars and the please yourself one but the most recent one is to use grid patterns and I find that hard. I’m put off before I start because many of the grid patterns seem fiddly to me. And of course they require a certain amount of self discipline, which I lack, I’m afraid. But it’s a bit like taking medicine – you don’t like it but it’s good for you. I’ll never like the grid patterns if I don’t make an effort. If I get better at them with practice I will no doubt like them more. Won’t I?

(I’m telling lies here. I do like, not to say LOVE, some of the grid patterns – cubine, dex, cadent, huggins – lots of the 3D ones.) But when I do a challenge or swap, I like to try something new to me. There I go again, setting myself rules and targets.  Just get on with it!

Anyway, I have to stop ranting there because it’s time for the Diva Challenge and it’s a Use My Tangle week.  I didn’t think I was going to like this.

Busy and overcomplicated.

So I had another go and I like it better.

I might have to try again.

 

 

7 thoughts on “The New Look

  1. Love your Amphora on the second card. The aura on one side only is striking! Wonderful shading! And I love your new “masthead”…. Beautiful colours!

Leave a Reply

