Livin’ Doll

Got myself a cryin’, walking, sleepin’, talkin’, livin’ doll…

Showing my age again but this comes to mind because I am currently making a doll for my granddaughter.  (I was going to do one for my grandson too but one may be more than enough.) It’s crochet, from a pattern I found on the Ravelry  website (http://www.ravelry.com/ )  – if you haven’t been there, go there. Do not pass go, do not collect £200, just go, it’s got everything and is worth joining just for all the free knitting and crochet patterns.

I'm making the bigger one, I hope.
I’m making the bigger one, I hope.

What’s the problem, I hear you ask…  Well, it’s me. I hate having to do as I’m told, constantly want to try MY way and therefore can’t follow a pattern for toffee. It’s why Zentangle works for me – I use the step outs to learn and then do it MY way. And then I try to kid myself that MY way is as good as the original. Hmmm. Not fooling anybody really but…

So this pattern for a doll, a Weebee doll, if you want to look it up  but this is a picture of the real thing, is not that complicated but it only works if you follow the pattern carefully. Pah! My doll has one leg fatter than the other and is twinny toed too. And I haven’t got up as far as the waist yet.  Mine is going to be the Quasimodo version. Why do I set myself on with these things? I mean, it’s all self inflicted, nobody asked me to do it.

I’ll post a photo of the finished version for your amusement at a later time but this is progress so far. Not looking good.

Clearly, she needs arms and clothes. Maybe just a body bag?
Clearly, she needs arms and clothes. Maybe just a body bag?

Got myself a cryin’, limpin’, crunchin’, twistin’, livin’ doll…

I had another of those conversations yesterday. You know, the ones where it’s compulsory to have had a frontal lobotomy before taking part. It was at the hairdresser’s, so I didn’t have high expectations but I think we hit an all time low.

We’d had the usual

“Did you see Eastenders/Corrie/Emerdale- insert soap of choice – ?” to which I had answered,

“No, I’m afraid I don’t watch any of them.”

This was said apologetically, as if I should be ashamed of not killing my brain cells any faster than necessary.  Met with a short silence and a long drawn out “ooooohh”

Second attempt:

“Did you see Kardashians (I thought they were on Startrek), TOWIE,  Big Brother, Dating Naked? Insert name of rubbish reality programme here.”   Reality, who are they kidding?

“No, I’m afraid I don’t watch any of them either.”Another short silence and another long drawn out “oooohhhh”

Clearly, I wasn’t playing fair.

“Have you got anything planned for the weekend, then?” she asked, clearly losing hope at this stage. And I couldn’t help it, I had to do it.

“Well, ” I said, “Not really, just the usual parachute jump on Saturday. But after we’ve done that, I think we’ll probably settle for  an hour or two of tantric sex and a bottle of wine.  Of course, Sunday’s different. We try to do something a bit special on Sundays. I don’t know what Stewart’s got planned. We haven’t got the shark cage mended from last week yet, so it won’t be that.”

The silence was quite a bit longer this time. “oooohhh. ” Another silence, then eye contact in the mirror.

“You’re kidding me aren’t you?”  I nodded.  A hesitant smile. “We’re going out on the piss.”

“Course you are, where are you going?” And we were on safe ground at last.

So you can imagine how grateful I was when the Diva Challenge came round again.

Weekly Challenge #305: “DuoTangle Marasu vs Molygon”
This week’s challenge is a Duotangle!! these challenges are truly my faves.  I’m always so impressed with the new and exciting ways you make the tangles interact with each other!!

If you’re new here, a Duotangle is the term i coined here on this blog to refer to a tile or piece using ONLY TWO SPECIFIC TANGLES.

This particular duotangle challenge is to use the two tangles Marasu and Molygon in your tile.

Not quite there but I still like the idea.
Not quite there but I still like the idea.

I started mine off with a clear idea, which is not usual, so I did two spirals and added Molygon around them. I started shading and came to a halt. I know it’s not finished but I can’t decide what to do next. I’ll let you know.

Until we meet again, world, be good – ish.

 

LATER

 

I decided it needed a little colour, so this is the finished version. Maybe.

Maybe a little more shade needed?
Maybe a little more shade needed?
19 thoughts on “Livin’ Doll

  1. Oh I realise how much I am missing by not doing the Diva Challenges every week! Reading your entry is one of them….loved this one and absolutely love your entry tile!! I am seriously hoping that you meant it when you said could you come to one of our Zentangle classes in March….get in touch if so and we’ll try and arrange something somehow!! Axxx

  2. Love how you made your spirals turn into S’s. Yes, the color really made it jump out. Cut little doll. I know what you mean about following directions, LOL! Can’t do it either.

  3. I love you beautiful tile for the duo challenge! The color really made it pop! My granddaughter would love a crocheted doll so I had better get busy. Thanks for the link to the pattern.

  4. Beautiful duotangle, the red makes a great addition. Love your cute little doll, I’m looking forward to see the finished one.

  5. Lol! So glad my hairdresser’s not like that! Although your “few hours of tantric sex sounds like a fabulous way to spend the afternoon! LOVE your duotangle! Wonderful colouring! It looks like candy cane hearts! 🙂

  6. I love your dolly. She has character, verve, is one-of-a-kind. Give her some arms and she’ll be laughing. And excellent riposte with the hairdresser. At least you made her day less vapid.

Leave a Reply

