Countdown to the Wedding…

The harbour in Rhodes Old Town
The harbour in Rhodes Old Town

Bought the frock. And the hat. Done the alterations on the bridesmaid dress. Made the card. (And the invitations, and the menus and place settings…) Still have to make two cakes and decorate them. Time is getting tight and I’m starting to feel the pressure. Why didn’t I just buy everything instead? Partly, of course, because I like to feel needed. Partly because I want everyone to admire my work. And, possibly mostly, because I can’t bear to pay out for something I can make.

Andrew, the groom and my son, is getting the jitters. He’s not got cold feet but he’s half longs for, half dreads the occasion itself. And the bride is a nervous wreck. I don’t remember being so wound up about mine. It was a biggish do in Rotherham Minster and we had a lovely day. I was nervous, but I don’t remember having sleepless nights.

But before all that about the wedding, which I shall bore you with another time, a little something about the recent holiday…

Taverna Spitaki, a very romantic place to eat.
Taverna Spitaki, a very romantic place to eat.

Having visited Rhodes twice this Summer, pre and post surgery, I thought I’d share the island with you, as it is such a lovely place. I have said before how much I love going to Greece. It’s not just the glorious climate or the history or the stunning landscapes: I just  always feel welcome there.

We stayed in Pefkos, which is definitely a holiday resort, not a historical site. The village, therefore, has lots of cafes, bars, tavernas and hotels, plus a small but pretty beach in a large bay, safe for swimming. That’s me happy. It does not have much in the way of night clubs, as far as we could see, but we didn’t look very hard because it’s not our thing. Every taverna we went in was worth a visit and the food and prices were good, but I have to single out a couple. One was called Spitaki, (See photo above) and was set in a tree shaded garden, just off the main road. You go in down some steps into a paved garden/courtyard, with tables on different levels and lights hanging from the olive trees. Very pretty. The staff were friendly and welcoming and as efficient as you ever get in Greece. (You can’t have charm, personal attention and conversation with staff and then expect spit spot service – be realistic. And I’ll wait for my dinner of lamp chops and feta chis if the waiter wants to talk, it’s fine by me.)

Just across the yard from our door.
Just across the yard from our door.

The food was excellent – generous portions, which is always popular with us, and beautifully cooked. They were justifiably proud of their home made desserts too, but I’m not a fan of seriously sweet things, so I wasn’t as appreciative as others might have been. Truly, a lovely way to spend a warm evening.

We met a couple at the hotel who were exceptionally good company and they had hired a car. They offered us a lift into Rhodes Town with them and we spent the whole day together.   It was an absolute joy from beginning to end. A very special day. Although I do have a couple of photos of them, I never publish a picture of anyone without permission, so i won’t include them here. We spent quite a lot of our evenings with them too and their company really added to the joy of the holiday. The combination of such good company in a place steeped in history and fading beauty was wonderful.  And dotted around this post are some, but only a few, of the photos we took. I could go on all day, but, for once, I won’t.

I just love the geometry of this.
I just love the geometry of this.
And how old do you think this window might be? 400 years, or more. Could be nearer to 1000
And how old do you think this window might be? 400 years, or more. Could be nearer to 1000
A rather neat little vehicle coming into the harbour. Travelling in style.
A rather neat little vehicle coming into the harbour. Travelling in style.

 

If Juliet had had this balcony...
If Juliet had had this balcony…

20161016_150233 20161016_144026

Eeeeh, there's nothing like a castellation, even if the word causes the loved one to shudder delicately.
Eeeeh, there’s nothing like a castellation, even if the word causes the loved one to shudder delicately.
I loved these lamps but didn't buy -they would never survive the journey.
I loved these lamps but didn’t buy -they would never survive the journey.
Another shop that filled me with regretful lust.
Another shop that filled me with regretful lust.
Our waiter at the hotel was Stergios so we were delighted to find this in Rhodes Town.
Our waiter at the hotel was Stergios so we were delighted to find this in Rhodes Town.

And, wherever you go, you find Zentangle too. Here’s one I saw in a shop in the Old Town. I managed to resist buying the bag too, but only just.

Look at the pattern on this bag, Rick's Paradox?
Look at the pattern on this bag, Rick’s Paradox?

 

So now I’m waiting for the next Diva Challenge and filling in time by doing the ones I’ve missed over the past few months. I’ve made a little list but it may take a while.

This week’s challenge is to create a Halloween themed tile.  (If that’s not something you take part in or you’re into, you can also do a white on black tile – and use a white gelly roll pen on a black tile, or other dark paper.)

dc-291
I’m not thrilled with this (It’s too rough and ready) but it does help clarify my thoughts and I do like the idea.

So it was my chance to try something a bit different. I’ve always wanted to do a sugar skull and this is  a try out for it. The skull uses a rather elderly white pen with white chalk pencil and the background is a silver sparkly Gelly Roll. On a black Zentangle tile. I’m seriously thinking of doing a larger version, but black on white, for one of my daughters for Christmas, or is that too gruesome? Is it something a loving mother wouldn’t do?  I’ll give it some thought.

So that’s it for this week, until the next time, world, be good – ish.

 

14 thoughts on “Countdown to the Wedding…

  1. Wow, that is an amazing tile! I have a niece who would just love it if I would make her one of these. Not gonna happen LOL! I don’t have the patience for such detail. I also love that bag. It is a bit of a variation of Paradox and I just can’t wait to try doing it myself! Thanks for sharing!

  2. That really is a very unique and beautiful tile, and I don’t think it is too rough at all. Love it!! Christmas gift? Ummm…not sure, lol!

    Really loved the photos of Greece…the architecture is amazing…and I’m happy for you that you were able to go.

  3. Thanks for sharing your wonderful photos! It is funny that you found zentangle on a bag 😉 Your diva tile is great – what a great skull! I think you daughters will like a greater version, though it is an “unusual” christmas gift I think 😉

  4. I did a ton of the work for my daughter’s first wedding. She is getting remarried next year and I plan on keeping a much lower profile lol! Love your sugar skull. I had a request a couple years ago to design one for my SpringBoard line and really enjoyed researching them.

  5. What a creative way to accomplish this challenge; the pumpkin nose on the skull seems to me to be the creative cherry on top! Your skull is quite spooky and spectacular! Best wishes on the family wedding:)

  6. A sugar skull! Brilliant! Why didn’t I think of that;-P I love your travelogue of Rhodes. I’ve traveled the Greek Islands twice, but never made it to Rhodes. Beautiful pics and commentary. Thanks so much for another great read.

  7. Hi, thanks for stopping by my blog and dropping a line. Glad you see you are recovered and still jetting around the world. Hope all goes well with the wedding. I got super busy during the summer and didn’t have time for the challenges. Somehow I didn’t get started again once the Autumn set in. I have been looking at doing some more tangling though.

Leave a Reply

