A Tangle in Time

 

A scratch card bauble ready to start the first Christmas cards.
A scratch card bauble ready to start the first Christmas cards.

Have you read “A Wrinkle in Time” by Madeleine L’Engle? If not, why not? I read it at College and have loved it ever since. I won’t bore you with the details, you can read it for yourselves and make your own decisions but it is a fun and thoughtful, not to say thought provoking,  semi educational book with a science background, overlayed with fantasy. And it involves manipulating Time. Capital T.

Anyway, having recently re-read it, I was taken with the idea that the shortest distance between two points is not necessarily a straight line. It’s the tangling that does it. Some days, I go into my craft room and pick up a pen. I tangle and shade and go all over the place in my head  and then it’s lunchtime and I don’t know how we got there. But I’m relaxed and at peace with the world and, on occasion, I’ve produced something worth looking at too. And, and you’ll like this, I believe it slows the ageing process. We go into a sort of stasis and don’t age while we’re tangling. In fact, I sometimes wonder if I’m reverting to childhood… (It’s something the loved one has suggested on more than one occasion.)

Last night, a couple of neighbours came round for a drink, a natter about holidays and a bit of supper. Now anyone in the UK will know that when a Yorkshire person offers “a bit of supper” it really is inadvisable to eat for two or three days in advance. In a desperate attempt to avoid over catering, I didn’t shop until the morning in question and then bought DIY pizzas. That was it, a couple of pizzas. So, when we got home, I set the table and made a cake. (Apricot and walnut cake.) Well two cakes, actually – stem ginger cake too. And half a dozen Danish pastries. And a Greek salad and some humus and home made aioli and soda bread.  And sliced, grilled chicken breast. Thaaaaat’s better.

Now this was for four of us. And you know what? It almost all disappeared. Over catering? Pshaw!

I mentioned a couple of  weeks ago  that I’m taking part in a FB swap with England’s green and pleasant land as my theme. I’m hoping to finish them this week, although 12 ATC’s is more of a challenge than I thought. It’s because of sticking with the theme  and I’m finding it a bit limiting. But, of course, that’s the point. I’ve completed a couple more ATC’s since then and used some new to me patterns. May I recommend Up n Down, by CZT Kathy Barringer, it has a lot of mileage in it, I find. And K-Leesi, from Sharon Robinson, which reminds me of a couple of other patterns in method but is unique in the end result.

I’m also doing one based on monotangles and have been practising ideas with just one pattern, to see which patterns lend themselves to filling a whole tile with variations on the one theme. So far I’m thinking Dragonair, Betweed, Dooleedoo, Yful power and K-Leesi. I’m interested in what patterns YOU would go for. (They can all be one pattern or a different pattern on each tile but only ONE pattern per tile.) The focus pattern on Square One was OKE, which I don’t use very often but I tried it on scratch card and I quite like it.oke scratch card

And then it was diva Day. I wasn’t going to do the Challenge this week, as drawing is still quite uncomfortable and the results are rather iffy at present. In addition, the theme is the Rio Olympics:-

 

This week i received a text from my fellow Saskatonian CZT Margaret Bremner, suggesting the olympic be the theme of this week’s challenge – and i thought HECK YES!

So here’s my tile for this week’s challenge!  I read that the 5 olympic rings symbolize the continents Africa, Asia, America, Europe, and Oceania 
I added a laurel crown of Flux, and then tangled the background using Gold, Silver, and Bronze Sakura Gelly roll metallic pens. 
This week let the Olympics inspire you!
Have FUN!
I’m not a sporty person. I believe I have turned sedentary into an art form. I dislike organised sport and am suspicious of the dishonest way members of the Olympic ruling body have behaved. (And as for FIFA, don’t get me started.) In fact, as you might guess from my comments on patriotism a few weeks ago, I’m not keen on international competition, which is nationalistic and therefore potentially dangerous in my eyes.  However, if people want to run, jump, swim, throw etc for their country, it’s a damn sight better than wanting to kill or die for your country. So I’d have the Olympic Games in preference any time.

I tried drawing the rings and it was laughable so I decided to download them and use them as a string. Typing in “Rio olympics logo” I got what you see below. So I traced it, coloured it and patterned it and, you won’t believe this – I like it! Wowser.

Scan0002
I didn’t get it at first but it’s three people in a ring. (I thought it looked like a baby’s dummy!)
So that’ll do for this week. It’s been a slow and steady week for me but my neck is improving and I’ve even been out. But I’ll tell you about that another time. So, until then, world, be good – ish.

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “A Tangle in Time

  1. Great minds think alike, I too chose the RIO logo to tangle. Love your colors and the delicate, lacey feel of your tile.

  2. I’ve been wondering what the Rio Olympics logo was. Now that you explain it, I quite like it, but as they hand them out to medalists, I’ve been thinking they look like little vintage record players. I can be imaginative like that. 😉 I’ve been watching the Olympics intermittently. It’s hard to avoid with the size of the US Olympic team. I admit I find myself mesmerized by the women’s gymnastics as opposed to, say, shooting. Why is that even a sport? Overfeeding is a human thing I think across borders and ethnicities which makes scenes of starvation on our planet all the more distressing. It sounds like you’re well into the healing process, so yay! for that. Nice job on the Olympics tile—especially for someone who finds them off-putting.

  3. Thank you once again for a lovely post and great read. Supper at your house sounds delightful;-) Your Diva piece is great! I tried drawing that logo freehand and it was a disaster. I’m glad you’re on the mend;-)

  4. That’s so pretty and I love your colours. I like the logo very much but it never crossed my mind to use it lol. I also love your comment “However, if people want to run, jump, swim, throw etc for their country, it’s a damn sight better than wanting to kill or die for your country. So I’d have the Olympic Games in preference any time”. So true.

  5. I like your tile and it’s frame and the colors and the shading; well, I just like it. You must be right, tangling stops the aging process, so from now on I’ll tangle 24/7

Leave a Reply

