Revisiting Lost Loves

One of several drawn in transit, in this case, on a plane.
One of several drawn in transit, in this case, on a plane.

I hope you’re not expecting salacious accounts of middle aged romance.  If you are, prepare to be disappointed. The lost loves in question are the patterns I first learned three years ago when I started tangling. Three years. It’s hard to imagine a life without tangling now. God that sounds sloppy, but it has taken up a lot of my life and, although I’m rarely satisfied with my drawings, I know they are improving and they give me enormous pleasure to do. The tangling community is amazing too.  There are quite a few people across the globe who I now regard as friends, some of whom I have never and probably will never meet, the distance being too great, but others, Suzanne Fluhr and Lynnell Harlow in particular,  I have met and found to be as likeable and funny in real life as they are on screen.

Another one drawn on a plane but this one feels incomplete to me, so I may be adding to it - when I have given it a bit of thought.
Another one drawn on a plane but this one feels incomplete to me, so I may be adding to it – when I have given it a bit of thought.

Another thing I am finding highly satisfying, and challenging, is the sharing with other people. The Diva Challenge is the first and best but I am also a member of several Facebook groups and one of them is for swapping work. The swap I am currently working on is a patriotic one, to do ATC’s which symbolise your love of your country. This is a tricky one for me. Having been brought up in the 1950’s and 60’s, I was inoculated with peace and love at a very impressionable age, when we were encouraged to see the world as a “Melting Pot” (Blue Mink), that boundaries and borders were what caused wars and that nationality came second to humanity. The corollary, of course, was that patriotism led to jingoism which led to war. So patriotism doesn’t come easily to me.

And yet, I love England.  I love the geography of the place; the wolds and moors; the fact that you are never more than 75 miles from the sea; the rough fells and the fertile valleys; the chocolate box villages and the historic towns. I love Englishness too, although I mock it constantly; the self deprecation; the humour, from mild to coarse to viciously satirical; the willingness to queue politely; the tolerance of other people’s foibles and the gentle mockery of and sympathy for anyone not lucky enough to be born here.

So, for this swap, I tried to think of England, not as a nation, but as its essence. And what came to mind? Jerusalem. Nah, not the city, the poem/song by William Blake. ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C79L3vjKAWQ  I can’t seem to make this a link but if you copy and paste it into the address bar you should be able to hear it.)

A small part of my green and pleasant land.
A small part of my green and pleasant land.

And did those feet in ancient time,
Walk upon England’s mountains green:
And was the holy Lamb of God,
On England’s pleasant pastures seen!

And did the Countenance Divine,
Shine forth upon our clouded hills?
And was Jerusalem builded here,
Among these dark Satanic Mills?

Bring me my Bow of burning gold;
Bring me my Arrows of desire:
Bring me my Spear: O clouds unfold!
Bring me my Chariot of fire!

I will not cease from Mental Fight,
Nor shall my Sword sleep in my hand:
Till we have built Jerusalem,
In England’s green & pleasant Land

 

So my patriotic ATC’s are all about this green and pleasant land and I started off with some colour.

Coloured with Koi Brush pens and ready for drawing.
Coloured with Koi Brush pens and ready for drawing.

 

As a further nod to my country, I’m going to use patterns beginning with U or K, which takes away some of the decision making dilemma.

The first one uses Undu amd K-Leesi, neither of which I have used before. I quite like it, but I can do better.

 

 

ATC 1 of eight.
ATC 1 of eight.

So, back to my first loves, the patterns I  first tried, back in the Summer of 2013 and Spring of 2014. They tend to be ones that can look 3D. I remember that this was one of the things I wanted to be able to do:- Cadent, Y ful power, Knot Rix, Hollibaugh, Vectorwec, Betweed, Purk, W2/Huggins.  I’ve used Purk quite a bit and Betweed but, now that I’ve found them, I’m really looking forward to re-acquainting myself  with the others too.

And then it was this week’s Diva Challenge, which I almost forgot because we went on a trip to Bridlington, on the east coast for the day.  Laura asked us to tangle on the move, which is a great idea, although I can’t draw in the car because I get soooo frustrated with the wobbly lines that I lose all patience.  On the plane, however, drawing is my sanity saver and you can see a couple  on this page that were drawn in flight. And these were too:-Kringle Ings

Which about wraps it up for this week. I won’t be doing next week’s Challenge until late in the week as it’s surgery on monday but  – I WILL BE BACK –

And, until then, world, be good – ish.

 

6 thoughts on “Revisiting Lost Loves

  1. Oh, this post is packed with traveling! I hope to join in a traveling tangles FB challenge eventually. Meanwhile, all of your pieces look great. I really like all the variety and texture in your ING piece…Much prayer ascending for your surgery.

  2. I do like those words about patriotism and think they are soooo true. You show a lot of beautiful art here, thanks for sharing. Like you I can hardly remember what I did without zentangle; I started five years ago 🙂

  3. I love reading your posts…full of all kinds of tidbits and inspiration. Your ATC backgrounds are gorgeous and your tangles on the go look like they were done without worrying about moving around. I can’t really do the challenge this week because I am the only driver in the family and I have a foot problem that precludes getting on public transportation for a while. I love your UK ATC; if that is your first attempt at using them, then I can hardly wait to see what you do with them after some practice. Good luck with your surgery and know that I am sending prayers for a successful surgery and speedy recovery.

  4. Firstly, will be thinking of you on Monday and hope that all goes well. Secondly, I love your travel tiles – that second one is full of potential and definitely should be revisited. And then you gave me goosebumps with your words and choice of poem … you summed it all up perfectly. I do hope we get a chance to meet one day, either in sunny Yorkshire, or even here in Andalucia on one of your many holiday travels. Axxx

    1. Thank you for your kind thoughts and words. I’d really like to meet – where are you in terms of the various Costas? We tend to stay on the coast because of the range of available and reasonably prices accommodation but then we hire a car and wander. I know Stewart – the loved one often mentioned in the blog – is planning a Spanish trip in the Spring. Normally I let him research and then agree to anything he suggests but I can usually get my own way if I set my mind to it!

  5. I like your first traveling tile: so uncomplicated but so nice and also the others are worthwile to finish!!!
    You did also a good job by coloring the paper with the Koi Brush pens, the one you finished is beautiful.
    I can’t draw while I am moving, that is why I’m not on the challenge this week.

Leave a Reply

