I’ll Follow the Sun

For some reason my blog headings tend to be song titles, or lines from songs, probably the result of a lack of originality on my part. But when I wrote this, I started humming the song and now it’s going round in my head on a loop. Oh well, it could be worse, could be Agadoo, or Little Arrows! At least it’s true, I am hoping to follow the sun next week and we’re off to sunny Spain for a warmer and, I sincerely hope, drier, week. However, I won’t grumble about the weather when so many people have had so much more to grumble about. The floods not so far from here have been horrendous, not merely in terms of financial cost but in terms of the misery they have caused. It’s not in the news as much now but it hasn’t gone away, hundreds of people with homes and businesses in ruins. 

I did this one first and I feel it's a bit busy but not too bad.
I did this one first and I feel it’s a bit busy but not too bad.

And today we saw a t.v. programme where people were looking for homes abroad and lo!, where were they? In the hills behind the Costa del Sol, which is where we are going. We’ve driven by Alhaurin on many occasions and now we’ve decided to have a closer look, and the same with Malaga Velez, which we pass on our day trips up to Nerja for a paella on the beach and maybe we can go to Antiquera for another trip. So that’s a couple of days out planned and we haven’t even left the U.K. yet.  Excellent.

 

 

 

 

Using Scroll Feather is always a risk for me, so I feel I was very brave with this one.
Using Scroll Feather is always a risk for me, so I feel I was very brave with this one.

A while ago, a friend gave me a set of leather table mats and coasters and I’ve decided to decorate them. I used a sepia Micron and my Promarkers for shading and I’m quite pleased with the results. Except for the shading on the scrolled feather, which still needs some work.) I’ve done three of the four coasters but have chickened out of the place mats because I don’t want to take the risk of spoiling them. I’ll have to psych myself up for that.

I probably like this one best but I couldn't say why.
I probably like this one best but I couldn’t say why.
Coloured with Promarkers and Gelly Rolls but the sparkle doesn't show on the scan.
Coloured with Promarkers and Gelly Rolls but the sparkle doesn’t show on the scan.

 

Still on my mission to complete things I had put on one side, this one dates right back to last May when I saw some pictures in a shop in Chania and in true Zentangle style, had to have a go.  I haven’t captured the style of the originals but I will, I will.

Maybe.

 

 

 

Can you see what to notice in the bottom of the window says? Don't you just love it?
Can you see what to notice in the bottom of the window says? Don’t you just love it?
I was a bit sneaky taking the picture in case they didn't like it, so the angle is not good but...
I was a bit sneaky taking the picture in case they didn’t like it, so the angle is not good but…

 

They look good in black and white too.
They look good in black and white too.

And then, in my spite of my promises to myself not to start new projects, or perhaps because of them, I saw this on Facebook and had to give it a go – http://hattifant.com/triskele-paper-globes/ . This is my first attempt but now I’ve got the idea, I think  there may be more. My cousin and I sat for the afternoon, listening to the Beatles, Mamas and Papas and the like, singing along because nobody else could hear us and happily colouring in. Sixteen inside and who cares how old we are on the outside? Because we were eager to actually make them, we rather rushed the colouring part, so mine’s a bit scrappy. But NEXT time…

And now it’s Diva Day and Laura tells us:

This Sunday, January 24, is Moebius Syndrome Awareness Day. For those of you who don’t know, my son Artoo was diagnosed with Moebius Syndrome when he was born.  For all my new friends – Moebius Syndrome is a congenital nerve disorder affecting cranial VI and VII nerves controlling the lateral movement of his face. Without going into too much detail about his condition; we deal with delayed developmental milestones, eating/feeding issues, club feet, low muscle tone – just to name a few things, and of course – being unable to deal with viruses and bacterias, he gets very sick. very fast. To raise awareness for this disorder is this week’s Challenge. Use the Moebius Syndrome Foundation’s logo as your string, or create a moebius strip out of paper and tangle that… or some other awesome creative thing that i haven’t thought of.

A bit busy perhaps but...
A bit busy perhaps but…

As the signature colour of the Foundation logo is purple, I did mine in different purple pens and then I got all symbolic. All the patterns used begin with M, for a start. There’s a little Mooka Harms family snuggled up together at the very centre of things, surrounded by both the syndrome and the Foundation, patterned in Maylea. No reason for that pattern except that it’s pretty. And the whole thing is held together by Mumsy. Seemed appropriate.

So that’s it for this week, next week we’ll be in Spain so everything depends on how the WiFi is in our hotel. See you soon, world, be good. (Good – ish?)

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “I’ll Follow the Sun

  1. No, I couldn’t read what the sign said, but I was intrigued enough to copy/paste it into a word doc so I could make it bigger. Really funny! Your tangles are great. Enjoy the rest of your trip!

  2. Your leather tiles look really good. My favourite is the sunflower type one. Your paper balls are really cool, thanks for the link I shall be having a go at those. Great Moebious, and clever to think of being symbolic with the tangle pattern names. Have a good time on holiday.

  3. I love your coasters. BTW, I did *not* need to know about those lovely paper balls 😉 So many cool projects, so little time!

  4. Ah, Espana. (You’ll have to imagine the little tilde (squiggly line over the “n” because I don’t know how to insert one on my lap top and I don’t feel like keyboarding with my thumbs on my phone, partly because with autocorrect, I end up posting all sorts of words that make no sense.) As you know, we were recently there (Madrid and Cordoba). There is a CZT from my class from Madrid who has been teaching up a storm there and flying all over Spain to do workshops. She even did one in Malaga (now you have to imagine an accent over the first “a”). So far, I’ve done one class for free at a public library that was a PITA to get to (so of course they want me to do another) and I’ve done one workshop at our apartment. 2 out of the 5 who signed up showed up. The others offered to pay a late cancellation fee, but they are FB friends, so I declined. I guess I don’t do Zentangle for the money. (Understatement of the century). I love the symbolism you explained for your pretty Moebius tile, especially the Harms family nestled in the middle. (Do I get the prize for the comment with the most tangential thinking this week?)

    1. Suzanne, I always enjoy your comments, tangential or otherwise. As for classes, I just do them for my friends because, since I am not able to do the CZT training, I don’t feel I should be claiming to be able to teach it. (£0 years at the chalkface and yet…) And the truth is, it’s great to do it for free; who needs to be paid to do what they love?

      1. I wouldn’t mind recouping done if my investment even though that’s impossible until I kick my art supply habit.;-)

  5. ‘Not too bad’ is what you said about the first one; indeed it isn’t because it’s so very beautiful!!! Thanks for the link to the paper balls, I do like them.

  6. As always, your work is beautiful. I love the leather tiles; they are fabulous and such a unique idea. Yours is one of the blogs that I dearly love to read as well as see the work you have done. Your Diva challenge tile with the Mooka Harms family in the center is such a fun, whimsical idea and the rest of the tile just follows suit. Very nicely done!

Leave a Reply

