If music be the food…

then there’s no wonder I’m overweight! (That’s MY excuse and I’m sticking to it.) On the flight home from Lanzarote, I was listening to Hugh Laurie singing some really old blues songs and cheerful it often wasn’t, although it’s good stuff, but, what with that and drawing, I’m in a little world of my own until they offer me tea or coffee and I am left wondering, was I singing along?  Are those people giving me funny looks because of “Please Mr Judge, send me to the lectric chair…” or, alternatively,  I’m plaintively reflecting on my need for cocaine? I just hope they realise it’s vicarious.

So I move on to listening to Paloma Faith and she’s a bit rude in places, so I try not to join in the chorus, so to speak. I’ll know I’m really, really getting old when I no longer care if I’m singing out loud in public places.

Doesn't look much from outside but...
Doesn’t look much from outside but…
Looking along the bar before examining the tapas in greater detail.
Looking along the bar before examining the tapas in greater detail.

Speaking of Lanzarote, which we weren’t but I like to keep you on your toes, we went to the market in Teguise, which used to be the capital of the island and is a very attractive, old fashioned looking place. From a previous visit, we remembered a restaurant called Alcatife,  which was not as touristy as some and, much to the loved one’s delight, very inexpensive. We both remembered it being on a side street, which it wasn’t; we both remembered it being a completely blank frontage, which it wasn’t and we both remembered it being cool even in the middle of the day, which, thank goodness, it was.  All I can say is, if you go to Lanzarote, go there. We loved it.

 

While we were away, I was re-reading “A Walk in the Woods” by Bill Bryson and chuckling away to myself, only to discover on our return home that it has been made into a film. Hoping to see it soon.

AND…

It was our wedding anniversary while we were away, 10 years of wedded bliss – and the other 29 weren’t too bad either. Sorry, that’s the loved one’s idea of a joke. However, you have to love  a man who gives you jewellery and this is what he gave me on the day.

Silver and Clogau gold, I just love it. (I quite like HIM too but let's not get sentimental.
Silver and Clogau gold, I just love it. (I quite like HIM too but let’s not get sentimental.)

 

LATER…

Now, I don’t want those of you who left comments a couple of weeks ago to get big headed, but, yes, you were right. I had a fit of throwing things in the bin when I was trying to do the Diva Challenge using a stencil or splashed colour for a string. (DC 237, I think) Nothing looked right to me but when I put the pics on here several folk said they would probably be better if I persevered, so I did, grumbling all the time, of course.

And another one bites the dust. The "flowers" were ok at first but then...
And another one bites the dust. The “flowers” were ok at first but then…

 

Another Brusho ink piece, ready to tangle.
Another Brusho ink piece, ready to tangle.

 

I accidentally scanned this greyscale and I think I like it better than the colour version.
I accidentally scanned this greyscale and I think I like it better than the colour version.
But this is it in the original format.
With a range of patterns in “bricks” to create a background. Maybe it’s not too bad after all.

So I’m going back to the others I threw on one side to see if I can make anything of them.

In the meantime, the loved one and I went to see aforementioned film of “A Walk in the Woods”, which was pretty good. It kept well enough to the book for me not to find myself arguing with the screen or threatening to write them a letter of complaint. Robert Redford, my idol for ever, is getting a bit craggy but still worth a look and convincingly understated as Bryson and Nick Nolte as Steve Katz was exceptional. If you haven’t seen it yet, give it a go.

And then the Diva Challenge is a day late because of Thanksgiving in Canada, not something we celebrate over here. If you had our climate, you’d be a bit sulky about giving thanks for it too. The Challenge is to use Munchin, with, if you chose to try it, the additional challenge of doing it on a black tile. I chickened out on the black and used it to fill a Christmas tree for yet another card. Uninspired but good practice.  I also did another attempt using Tri Bee from last week which I like very much – the pattern, not my piece, although it’s OK.

i can't make up my mind whether to make the sparkly bits into snowflakes or stars. Decisions, decisions...
I can’t make up my mind whether to make the sparkly bits into snowflakes or stars. Decisions, decisions…
Experiments with Tri Bee.
Experiments with Tri Bee.

 

And, apart from having my flu jab, that’s about it for this week, see you soon world, be good.

LATER AGAIN…

On a real Zentangle tile too - not often I risk one of those.
On a real Zentangle tile too – not often I risk one of those.

So I couldn’t resist having a go on a black tile and this is what I managed. I think it can have a bit of added sparkle and go on yet another Christmas card.

11 thoughts on “If music be the food…

  1. Thanks for the reminder on the flu shot—and now that I’m over a certain age, I should hold out my other arm for the shingles vaccine. (Maybe tomorrow). Your husband reminds me of my father and no one could tell when he was joking, so he got a bit of a reputation for being a “character”. It is very sweet that he still buys you jewelry. Mine gave up after I returned the first 4 things he gave me. I can’t say I blame him.

    I think Munchin is very inspired on your Christmas tree. I might have to “borrow” that idea. I’d go with sparkly stars or you could do a mixture of stars and snowflakes—for that snowing at night effect. 😉

    Glad you had a good time in Lanzarote. I have to plan our trip to Madrid for the beginning of December (December 1-10). We have to stay in Madrid until 12/5 for the hubster’s conference. Do you have any suggestions for the other 5 days? We’ve been to Toledo (and I’ve been to Salamanca, Segovia and Avila). I was thinking about Cordoba and maybe Cadiz. The young Spanish woman for whom I translated at my CZT training earlier this year has been giving workshops all over Spain. I did one at a local library. I definitely need to pick up my marketing game.

    1. Well the trouble with Madrid is that it’s right in the middle so quite a few places are some distance away. Burgos has a fabulous cathedral and there’s a little place called Guadaleste on the way to Valencia/Benidorm that’s very pretty. (DON’T go to Benidorm – I wouldn’t wish that on anyone.) There are two other small towns with ruins and stunning scenery, Ronda and Antiquera, both well south so it’s probably too long a drive but…

  2. I love your little Munchin star on black. The Christmas tree is great too. I know what you mean about not often risking a real Zentangle tile. Mine are too precious to squander. They sit in their little box and every now and again I open it, take one out, feel it and put it back again. It will soon be too oily from my fingers to take any ink !!!

  3. Lovely tiles!!! Maybe I’ll ‘steal’ your idea for a Christmas card 🙂 I used to sing when I was driving my bicycle and I remember the looks…..

  4. Glad you had such a good holiday for your anniversary – lovely ring too! I really do like the rescued inky tiles you have done. Great Munchin Christmas tree idea – it works so well that I may have to ‘borrow’ it. I usually tangle on wooden trees and this would work perfectly.
    Axxx

  5. It is such a treat to visit your blog…but I can’t do it while drinking coffee, or I risk caffeinated spray all over the place! I love your pink spray piece. The little square bits contrast so nicely with the blossoms. Your Tri-bee piece is so whimsical! I couldn’t get very far with that one. I also love your Munchin black star. What a great card design! You had a good week or so, plus you got jewelry. Now how can you beat that?

Leave a Reply

