Magic Moments

This before I filled in the black areas or did any shading, so you can still clearly see the original printed template.
This before I filled in the black areas or did any shading, so you can still clearly see the original printed template.
Final version
Final version
Just shading
Just shading

 

I thought I’d put this one up in its three stages. I did it for the Diva Challenge last week and was not all that happy with it. Well, now I’m happier. It just looked a bit dull, I suppose, and now it doesn’t.

Alright, ‘fess up, who immediately started humming along with Perry Como when they saw the title of this week’s post? He was one of my mum’s favourites, although way too respectable for me. When I was playing the Beatles, Stones, Who, Bob Dylan and Jimi Hendrix, she was happily humming along to Perry, Andy Williams, Matt Munro  and Kathy Kirby. Although I still bumble along with my old favourites, some of the newer ones have found their way into my mental jukebox, so I sometimes find myself singing along with Pink, the Stereophonics and Muse too. None of this hip hop or rap stuff, though, I am a product of my upbringing and for me foul language is kept to when I’m in extremis and certainly not for song lyrics. Doesn’t look like I’ll ever be down with the homies but I can live with that.

 

I think I need to do a bit more with the colour in the border.
I think I need to do a bit more with the colour in the border.

You will no doubt be unsurprised to learn that my flurry of Christmas card making had stumbled to a close for the time being. I’m a bit like Toad in “Wind in the Willows”, my enthusiasms are ferocious but sometimes short lived. So I’m back to drawing whatever comes to mind and pleasing myself for the time being. This has included a picture for a friend in Scotland who has asked me to do something for his two grown up daughters. One of them is a pretty high powered business woman, so I did her some pens, using a Dreamweaver stencil, Aquarelle pencils. However, I’m having trouble working out what to do for the other one, who is a teacher. I might do the same one in different colourways.

I’m hoping to be teaching another class soon, so I’m preparing a demo piece to show the lady I hope to be doing it for. It will be one of those little square zig zag books, with each page having a small tile showcasing a particular pattern and a decorated tag with the pattern name. I’m trying to mix patterns to include grids, dot grids, organic, ribbon and motif ideas. There will be eight small tiles, plus a cover  and maybe some little tags tucked in the pockets.

The front cover.
The front cover.

SAM_8556

An example of Dragonair.
An example of Dragonair.
Purk.
Purk.
Cubine.
Cubine.

 

I haven’t decided yet whether or not to put a tile on the left hand pages too but I suspect there won’t be enough time. I have, however, decided that adding tags will be too fussy so it will stay pretty much as you see it.

I watched a Helen williams video on Youtube on how to draw Olb and Abundies together and really liked it so, of course, I had to give it a try. I had also been looking at another site called Tickled to Tangle by Adele Bruno, where she had shown a pattern called Radiant Sunflower and, for me, the two seemed to go together. Anyway, this is what I came up with and I quite like it.

Aquarelle pencils and Gelly Roll Stardust pens.
Aquarelle pencils and Gelly Roll Stardust pens.

Medicine And this is what I might use for my friend’s other daughter. It’s a little bit bigger then the pens one, about 8″ by 6″. Obviously, not even half way through yet but you get the idea. All the dangles need to be coloured, as do the leaves on the border and the lettering. I’ve gone for sepia colours for a change but I’m not sure such a limited palette is quite right. ah well, it’s all learning, isn’t it?

 

I’ve also decided it’s time to improve my blog, so it may look a little different some time soon, if I can work out how to do it. And then I got a fit of inspiration and decided to do a new picture for the top of the blog home page.

Based on some stuff I saw on Miraculous Mosquito on Youtube.
Based on some stuff I saw on Miraculous Mosquito on Youtube.

This is the outline so far. As always, I have about three things on the go at one time. (And that doesn’t include knitting two small teddy bears for grandchildren.)

Then, taking me completely by surprise, it’s Diva Day again and the guest blogger this week is Sharla Hicks, who challenges us to use her tangle, Sharlarella. Can’t wait to get going on that one – I’ll be back…

 

LATER:

DC 231 a DC 231 bA bit of an odd one, this one. Having recently learned Olb and Abundies, this pattern felt like “just more auras” and, in spite of the stunning pieces Sharla had put on the Diva blog, I didn’t feel excited by it. The sort of flower was the first one I did, well, no, it was the second but the first is where it belongs, in the bin. Anyway, the flower-ish one was OK but not very satisfying, so I decided to mix two versions of the pattern and see if that worked for me. I did the open ones first, in diagonal corners and then a string of the more closed ones down the middle. And that’s just what it looked like, two patterns on a tile. Meh. So I kept filling in more and more until there was no more room, sat back, grabbed a pencil and shaded it to within an inch of its life. In fact, I possibly shaded too much, not sure.

Anyway, back to redesigning the blog, see you soon, world.

15 thoughts on “Magic Moments

  1. I was told recently that you can’t shade to much because you could erase if you thought it was too much.
    Read your whole post. You have created some very inspiring pieces in just this one post. Hope you get your teaching post on the small book, it’s wonderful. I have a friend who is a writer, your two pieces for your friends daughters might get cased so I could gift my friend a new piece of art. Never fear mine won’t come up to anywhere near your pieces. I also liked the banner your working on for the top of your blog. Will be interesting to see if you add color.

    1. Hi Beverley, and thanks for your kind words. i do intend to add colour to the banner, although I haven’t decided what or how yet. As for the two pieces you liked the look of for your friend, remember that the pens are from a Dreamweaver stencil , which you can buy online, if you like them enough.

  2. Once again, you’ve been stunningly productive. The gifts for your friend’s daughters are both lovely, but I particularly like the pens—probably because I’m a pen junkie. I actually rejoiced that we had to do our “good” work in fountain pen when I attended school in England. In the US, by 1969, fountain pens were already considered quaint and archaic. I hope the person for whom you made the demo book is suitably impressed. It’s wonderful. I like all your challenge tiles, but the blue one grabbed my attention. It’s so floaty and reminds me of a jelly fish exhibit I saw at the National Aquarium in Baltimore, Maryland. They had tiny jelly fish back lit with colored lights.

    I need a big time reworking of my blog, according to my Millennial digital nomad son. He’s pressuring me to separate the zentangle into it’s own completely separate blog, but I’m not convinced. Do you find it annoying that Zentangle posts are mixed in with travel posts and posts on other subjects? As far as I’m concerned, they’re all Boomeresque, but he thinks blogs need to be “niched”. I look forward to seeing what you come up with.

    1. Frankly, Suzanne, I like the mix. We’re multi taskers and have varied interests and we like to find out more about people and places, so for me, the range of topics is interesting.

  3. Dear M
    I love all your pieces, as usual, but my eyes settled on the one with the Aquarelle pencils. It is simply beautiful 🙂
    P.S. I agree with you on not being too excited about this challenge in particular, and I still have not decided if I might sit this one out too.
    d.

  4. On my blog, you asked me about the tangle Sharalarelli. I found it in a (German) book called ‘Das Grosse Zentangle Buch’ by Beate Winkler. If you want, I can scan the page with the steps outs and send it to you by e-mail. You can best reach me for this at my e-mail address: aaceha@gmail.com.

  5. I always look forward to reading your blog because it’s just so much fun to read. Makes me feel like neighbors visiting over the fence post. But I must say that I love all the artwork you show on your blog. You must keep very busy. The color added to the zendala definitely brightens it and the little zigzag book is amazing. I have been toying with the idea of doing a few books or something. Your pieces for the challenge this week definitely showed the undulation of the tangles. I think that if I had to choose a favorite, it would probably be the blue one…again I think the color adds something to the pieces and I’m still trying to add some color to mine and have it look good. Hopefully I’ll have mine up tomorrow. Wonderful work!

Leave a Reply

