Over the hills and far away.

Before I start, I want to share this. It was on FB and I think a lot of tanglers in the early stages will relate to it:

http://jcorina.com/a-tale-of-two-tiles/#.VY678OQgd5M.facebook

Just, and I mean just, off the west coast of Scotland. The short ferry only takes about five minutes.
Just, and I mean just, off the west coast of Scotland. The short ferry only takes about five minutes.

So, back to Over the Hills;

We’re going a bit Gaelic this week, visiting friends in Scotland for a few days. Firstly, to just south of Glasgow and then over to the Isle of Bute for some serious peace and quiet. Now I’ve been to Bute before, a long while ago. We stayed on a farm, my parents and I, a farm called the Barone Farm. My dad, who had been watching Rawhide and the like, thought it was Bar One, as in Bar One Ranch, but it wasn’t, it’s an ancient name going back several hundred years and having no relation at all to branding irons and chaps in chaps, so to speak. 

I don’t know how old I was, about eight, I think, but I was fascinated by the farm and all its activities. They had two daughters, older than me but good natured enough to let me trail around after them when they did their chores.  And they had a pet lamb or, to be more precise, “A wee pet lamb” called  Blarney, I think,  or Barney. Each day, I was allowed to go with them to feed Barney the wee pet lamb. You can imagine my surprise on the first day, when a fully grown ram came bounding across the field to be fed from a bottle. Apparently, he had been abandoned at birth by his mother and they had bottle reared him and, although he was now fully grown and in no need of it, he still loved his bottle of warm milk each day and the girls indulged him. In his enthusiasm, he managed to knock me over virtually every day and I loved it.

They also had a swing, hanging from the branch of a tree and I was allowed to play on it, unsupervised for the first time. This was a real step forward, to such and extent that, on the day I fell off, sat up, was hit a stunning blow by the swing on the back of the head and lay unconscious for a short while, I never told them, knowing, as children do, that solo swinging would be banned for the foreseeable future. My mum put my subdued behaviour that evening down to “too much sun” thank goodness. The weather must have been extremely unusual that year, if the current forecast is anything to go on.

Assuming that Scottish weather is likely to be even less predictable than English weather, I’m packing for all four seasons, since, from past experience, I know we are likely to get all four in any one day.

I’m also going to do an “Introduction to Zentangle” session with a few of my friend’s crafting friends. Ive been giving it a lot of thought and was going to use an outline I’ve used before as a string. However, the maze book I mentioned last week might be a good idea, as they are all skilled crafters and it might help them relax about the drawing part. We’ll see.

ONE WEEK LATER

The House for an Art Lover, designed by Charles Rennie MacIntosh.
The House for an Art Lover, designed by Charles Rennie MacIntosh.

Well, I was right about the weather. We did a day in Glasgow, visiting the House for an Art Lover, designed by Charles Rennie Macintosh in the morning (could have stayed all day) and then wandering on foot round the city centre in the afternoon. (After a light lunch in what is reputed to be the oldest original bar in Glasgow – the Horseshoe Bar.) Unfortunately, it was dark and drizzly, which didn’t spoil the house tour but did, quite literally, put a damper on the city centre bit. In the end, we gave up and got the train back to Ann’s house.

 

A light fitting in the ladies' drawing room.
A light fitting in the ladies’ drawing room.

 

 

 

 

 

The piano in the music room.
The piano in the music room.

 

 

 

The dining room.
The dining room.

That evening we did indeed use the maze book and then made tiles to go in it. I think the ladies enjoyed it and at least one of them will persevere. I hope so.

The following day, the loved one and I went over to Bute, which is a small island off the west coast of Scotland. It’s beautiful, or so I’m told, it was damn near invisible for the first couple of days. Bear in mind, this is midsummer but you’d never have guessed from the light or the temperatures.  We went for a little walk on the first evening and soon realised we were regarded as supper by the local insect population. That didn’t endear us to the place either.

However, we had been greeted by our next door neighbour, Bill, who came round within an hour of our arrival, to welcome us, bring us the spare keys, stay for a cuppa and a chat and let us know that he had been round earlier, thought it was a bit cool, so had put on the central heating.  This warmth proved typical of the gentleman in question, and I use the term advisedly, he really was a proper gent.  He let me use his WiFi, came for a chat but never intruded and was an all round good neighbour. One morning, he happened to be up at dawn – about 03.40, apparently – and took these photos outside our front door.

Another composite from Bill, this time of sunrise, taken just outside the house. I'm delighted to say i slept through it, lovely though it was.
Another composite from Bill, this time of sunrise, taken just outside the house. I’m delighted to say i slept through it, lovely though it was.

 

20150620_133222
Along the beach at Kerrycroy
20150620_133904
the green at Kerrycroy.

We had a run into town the following morning. (Not a big town, population about 12,000) Walked along the sea front, which was probably very pretty, how would we know, we couldn’t see much through the steady drizzle? Had a very nice lunch in the Esplanade cafe and, after a little run out to Kerrycroy, which was lovely, to say the least, (And it stopped raining!) we went back to the house to await the arrival of our hostess.  The rest of the day was spent talking and eating and it really doesn’t matter about the weather at that point.

We went to Mount Stuart on the Sunday, after church. (Them, not me, it’s been a while since I felt church was doing me any good.)  It is a magnificent house, owned by a family which has been there since the middle ages and probably has more royal blood in its veins than the present monarchy. The house, however, was rebuilt in the 19th century and is huge, magnificent and full of all sorts of quirky features. I can’t, I have to admit, picture it as a home, buit it is nonetheless a fabulous place. Each room has a guide who will answer questions  but they don’t force it on you and there is no sense of being educated against your will. What’s more, they really are very well informed, personable and a pleasure to hear. If you get the chance, go there and ask as many questions as you can, they’ll love you for it. I can’t let you see what it looks like because their one prohibition is photography. And, for once, I did as I was told and left the camera in my bag, although it nearly killed me.

A bit crowded but i went for a paddle in the sea before the hordes got there.
Ettrick Bay, a bit crowded but I went for a paddle in the sea before the hordes got there.
20150622_161657
Can you guess which way the wind usually blows on the steep path up to St Blane’s?
20150622_161829
the loved one hadn’t intended doing the steep hill but it just sort of beckoned us on.

The following day was fine. You heard me, FINE. So we did a tour of the island, which, without stops, would have taken possibly and hour. But we did stop, in Ettrick Bay, in St Ninian’s Bay (Look up Calum’s Cabin and read an extremely heartwarming story about love and caring and community. https://www.facebook.com/ ) And then we went to St Blain’s. This is a ruined church on a hillside in the middle of nowhere. Apparently, on Easter Sunday, everyone from a Christian church on the island, any denomination, walks there for the Easter service.  It’s not a spectacularly long walk but it’s steep and they have to sit outdoors because, as previously mentioned, it’s a ruin. And very, very beautiful.  As you can see.  20150622_162346

 

 

 

 

 

Well, I think that’s probably enough for now about our little trip. I can’t show much in the way of drawing this week, as I gave it all away without thinking to take photos first. I did a little name plate for each of the ladies in the craft group in Scotland and a coaster for my friend, Ann, whose hospitality was boundless.

All I have to show is this week’s Diva Challenge, to use Tipple. Being me, of course, I filled some of the bigger ones and added colour.  Off to Tenerife in the morning, so I don’t know if I’ll be able to post next week.

See you soon, world, be good.

Jetties, Pausholov, Circuital, Betweed...and Tipple, of course.
Jetties, Pausholov, Circuital, Betweed…and Tipple, of course.
13 thoughts on “Over the hills and far away.

  1. It looks like you had a lovely visit to Scotland, rain notwithstanding. Actually, as you mentioned, rain is pretty much par for the course. (DId you notice the golf metaphor in honor of Scotland?). (When I was 16 we drove from Devizes to Scotland over our Whitsun break. We visited Saint Andrews, where golf was supposedly invented, We also went to Edinburgh and got as far north as Pitlochry, but we skipped Glasgow which at that time was still pretty much just a gritty port, industrial city.)

    Nicely embellished Tipple. I’m glad someone has the nerve to color outside the lines (not strictly follow the rules — as it were.)

    Safe travels to Tenerife. I know you said I travel a lot. You’re doing your share too it seems. Enjoy!

  2. Hi Margaret,Just love this message. I think you should be a travel writer cos I want to visit Scotland now, this minute, rain and all. Hope you and Stewart have a great time in Tenerife. Hopefully you will need more sun cream at this destination. Love from Ann.

    WordPress.com | magratscraft posted: “Before I start, I want to share this. It was on FB and I think a lot of tanglers in the early stages will relate to it:http://jcorina.com/a-tale-of-two-tiles/#.VY678OQgd5M.facebookSo, back to Over the Hills;We’re going a bit Gaelic this we” | |

  3. Thank you for sharing those lovely photos. Unbelievable and beautiful. The piano was incredible! What a sculpture in of its own.
    And your tile is composed really well. The shapes are fun and tie everything together. Sarah.

  4. Glorious photos! What a find – and what a fantastic beach! So enjoyed your tipple tile at the end too. Love the colour and the tangles work perfectly together. Axxx

  5. Loved your story of the visit to Scotland, and I LOVE Calum’s Cabin. Whenever I hear of a community of people dedicated to bettering the lives of people, my heart just gets larger! And your tipple tile is so much fun. Like shiny pink beach balls bouncing around. Good times!

  6. Dear M

    Wow – just wow. As always, your photos are a feast for my eyes 🙂 I really enjoyed them all, especially the music room shot.

    My dad relocated to Edinburgh last September and recently, I keep thinking of all my childhood visits to the UK… and missing old buildings.. castles.. treasure houses.. old streets… even the weather – ‘all 4 seasons in one day’ crazies, I also miss!! You are giving me a serious wanderlust for the UK 😛

    Your Tipple challenge tile is very cute.. very festive, I could so see it featured on some of your homemade Christmas cards 😛

    Have a great week and safe travels!

    d.

  7. What lovely childhood recollections, and your travelogue is so amazing. My husband and I are big fans of the streaming service Acorn TV because it takes us to programs set all over Great Britain – places we will in all likelihood never have an opportunity to visit for ourselves. Thank you for your photos and musings on your travels! The Macintosh house is spectacular. His work is very popular in Chicago, where I am from, being very focused on Deco style architecture and art. Finally, your Tipple design is so vibrant and full of life! It looks as though the balls would really bounce right off the tile!

Leave a Reply

