Loving technology.

I haven't finished this yet, as you can see, it still needs colour. I'm going to stick with the blues/purples and see how it turns our.
I haven’t finished this yet, as you can see, it still needs colour. I’m going to stick with the blues/purples and see how it turns out.

The thing is, when it works, it’s great. And in comparison to what was available when I was a kid, it’s hard to believe things have changed so much. We got TV when I was about a year old, so my mum told me. We got a car when I was about seven. We didn’t have a home phone until I was about 21.  They had central heating installed after I got married, I seem to think, although the house the loved one and I moved into when we married had it already.

How did we ever survive, back in the Dark Ages?

We read books.

We walked to school.

We played outside.

We got up early to make the fire to get the hot water to get washed each day.

We talked to each other.

Didn’t seem weird at the time, did it?

Anyway, what has led to this reflection on times past and the joys of modern technology? Redecorating. To be precise, we decided we needed a new floor in the craft room/study/office. Of course, if you’re going to do the floor, the room has to be empty and therefore it’s a good opportunity to paint the walls too. Which means emptying the bookshelves  and moving out EVERYTHING else. About seven minutes into the moving process I was regretting the whole idea. but, once the loved one gets his teeth into a project, there’s little short of manacles that will stop him.

As part of this joyous experience, (Sarcasm? What , me?) we moved the computer, printer and all the associated tranclements from what was the spare bedroom upstairs into the dining room, which is on the ground floor. So we had to plug the internet stuff into a different socket. so we needed a longer wire. So I went to buy and extension cable. Four shops in the town centre and three on an out of town  shopping centre  before I found what we wanted. That’s three hours virtually wasted, especially when I looked in the drawer full of bits we daren’t throw away to discover that we already had one. Hmmmm.

And then I connected everything up and it didn’t work.  I called in the loved one and he couldn’t make it work either. So we disconnected everything and did it together. And it still didn’t work. Damn, damn, double damn. So we phoned the broadband people and a very patient chap talked us through the process and lo! it worked.

In addition to all this, I’ve been away from home the last couple of Mondays, first at the Stationery Show in London and then on holiday in Crete and so I’ve tried to do my blog using my tablet. Well, of course it’s a touch screen, so half the screen disappears when you want to write because the keyboard is up there, so I can’t see what I’m writing. I still have trouble uploading pictures and I keep forgetting to save drafts, which means I write the same thing two or three times before it gets saved!  I spent an hour reading through my last two blog posts and shuddering with embarrassment.

And, and… My Kindle died. Battery was lasting about an hour and a half, so on a four hour flight it wasn’t enough. And it kept refusing to turn pages. In desperation, I ordered a new one on Monday teatime.

Well, that was Monday finished with and I hadn’t even looked at the Diva Challenge.

This is much bigger than my usual stuff, about 20cm/8 inches in diameter. For some reason, it just grew, like Topsy and, the more I did, the more I liked it. Doesn't usually work that way.
This is much bigger than my usual stuff, about 20cm/8 inches in diameter. For some reason, it just grew, like Topsy and, the more I did, the more I liked it. Doesn’t usually work that way.

 

So today I woke up feeling very down. No reason, just felt vaguely headachey and fed up.  I dragged out some paper and pens to cheer myself up. It always works and it did today. This is what I did…

And then, I remembered the Diva Challenge and couldn’t wait to have a look. she asked us to produce a duotangle, using Dex and Bunzo. Now, i like both these patterns but they didn’t seem like a natural combination to me. You can imagine my surprise when, like the circular piece, it just seemed to come together.

 

Didn't have any ideas in mind, just went with it.
Didn’t have any ideas in mind, just went with it.

So now we’ve just finished our evening meal, the computer is working; I’ve written my blog, my new Kindle has arrived (in less than 24 hours!) and I’ve done the Diva challenge. Eight o’clock and All’s Well.

See you next week, world, and I hope you have a good one.

 

10 thoughts on “Loving technology.

  1. Oh yes, the good old days (when, my children believe, dinosaurs roamed the earth). We talked. we played outside, we walked, we read. Lovely. I’m not a big fan of today’s social media society, but it does have the advantage of bringing together people of many diverse places who would never have met in the good old days. Your Diva Duo is delightful and I love the story that went with it. Thanks for sharing it 🙂

  2. Hey, Maggie! Your diva challenge is beautiful…your “just went with it” really did the job and “came together! Glad you enjoyed your time at the stationery show. I knew you would be perfect to demonstrate for them. AND it’s always fun to look around a bit at a trade show like that, so many innovative things going on. I always enjoy reading your blog, you always have a fun way of telling about the little ups and downs and the latest news. Looking forward to pictures of Crete….

  3. I like your tile (a lot) and your post. Don’t we all have these things, when decorating? We have to do the ling room, but when I think of all the work, we wait and wait and ………… we’re waiting for years now 🙂

  4. We had about two months without a TV when we moved here, (Spanish TV is crap, anyway!) and we had a couple of days without internet and my children coped quite well. It was nice but we won’t be repeating the experience.
    I absolutely love your two circle tiles – delicious and delightful! And your Dex and Bunzo combination works really well.
    Great work!
    Axxx

  5. Love your Post, MaggieBee. It is a pleasure to visit with you on your wonderful blog. Beautiful Tiles. Your Diva Challenge Tile is Terrific. Love the design and your Bunzo is striking.

  6. First of all, I loved your post. And yes, I agree that all of those things seem so very comfortable to me. So no, I don’t think you are weird at all. I love conversation and talking to people when I can hear their voice. You described it beautifully. Your tiles are beautiful and I’m glad that tangling serves it’s purpose; it does that for me too. Your Diva challenge tile is stunning with the various sizes of Dex and the Bunzo filling the corner. Nicely done!

  7. I’m writing this with one finger on my smartphone.I’m at a conference in Miami Beach, Florida which is sponsored by AARP. This used to stand for the American Association of Retired Persons, but they figured they could make more money if they ratcheted down the eligibility age to age 50. Okay. Enough cynicism for 1 comment. (I actually just “wrote” that using voice recognition. Amazing. ) I also remember the times you were reminiscing about. The year we lived in England (1969 to 1970) we didn’t have central heating and my job in the morning was to patter down the freezing hall and put on the immersion heater so there would be some hot water. Mind you, our house in the US did have central heating, so it was a bit of an adjustment. As usual, I’m impressed with what you did for this week’s challenge, especially because you just let it flow. I am trying to train myself not to overthink everything; however, this means overcoming the training I received in three years of law school and 30 years as a lawyer where people are basically paying one precisely to overthink everything—so they won’t have to. 😉

Leave a Reply

