Reconnecting

Hello world, I hope your week has been as much fun as mine.  It didn’t start well but it improved no end. At College, way back in the mists of prehistory, I had a friend called Eddie, who was an extremely talented musician and I have been expecing to see his name in lights ever since we all went our separate ways. We didn’t keep in touch but I was sure I would be saying, “Oh yes, I used to know him before he was famous.” It never happened and one day last week, a propos nothing in particular, I mentioned this to the loved one, who suggested I google the name, which I did and, to my delight, I found him straight away, only to discover that the article I was looking at was his obituary. As I said, it didn’t start well.

Two cates coloured with the Koi brushes and ready to pattern.
Two cats coloured with the Koi brushes and ready to pattern.

This made me think about all those times I threaten to get in touch with old friends, then don’t. My bestest ever friend from school was Sue V and she is probably the only one whose married name I knew. I found her on Facebook, sent a private message, to which she responded characteristically – “Well, bugger me, it’s you.” – and we met up last week after 40 years of radio silence. Well, I can tell you, silence wasn’t an option once we got together. We must have been breathing in through our bottoms because our mouths never stopped talking for about four hours. And she’s still the same, funny, daft, clever, interesting, thought provoking female she was back then  and, whatever the connection used to be, it’s still there. What a joy. We parted promising not to leave it another 40 years and I’m pretty sure we’ll keep in touch now.

One down, about a dozen more to chase up.

 

Reminds me of "Fantasia"
Reminds me of “Fantasia”

And then, as a result of the secret I’m not telling you until next week, I received some more goodies in the post and have been drawing, colouring and experimenting day and night. The loved one went off for his annual weekend of debauchery with his four lifelong buddies and I had four whole days of self indulgence. (If I’m fair, apart from his absence, it’s not much different to usual, I am a pretty self indulgent body at the best of times.)

 

 

 

 

I like the cat even better as a ginger tom.
I like the cat even better as a ginger tom.Anyway, I spent Friday using some new stencils and colouring them with my new Sakura Koi watercolour brushes. They take a bit of getting used to because the paper has to be just right or the water spoils the surface but you get fabulous fade and shade effects. I’m not there yet but I will be, eventually.

My elder daughter came over for tea and we drank a little wine and watched this fascinating programme on t.v. called “Say yes to the dress”. What it may have lacked in intellectual stimulation, it more than made up for in giggles and disbelief. It was like watching a car crash. Who, I ask you, who would take their fiance’s ex-girlfriend with her to buy her wedding dress? And there were three or four episodes back to back. Well, it certainly gave my little grey cells a rest.

On Saturday I took her to Ikea. Bad move? Oh yes, but such fun. I bought a new lamp with eco friendly bulbs that make daylight so I can do some drawing whilst half watching TV. Oh come on, tell me you don’t do that. Let’s face it, most TV isn’t fit to watch with any degree of concentration, now is it? (See Friday evening)

The butterfly isn't finished yet but you can see what it's like. The metallic pens don't show up too well on the scan but ...
The butterfly isn’t finished yet but you can see what it’s like. The metallic pens don’t show up too well on the scan but …

Sunday, nuffin, zero, zilch except drawing and colouring and more stencils. (And a couple of long phone calls that kept me giggling all over again.) (Hi Ann, I’ll be seeing you in June.) I went to bed with aching eyes and patterns swirling in my head but slept like a log. Do logs sleep? I mean, you never hear them snoring do you? Just a thought. And I had two birthday cards to do, one for the aforementioned daughter and one for the daughter in law to be.

this for Alex.
This for Alex.
And this for Karen.
And this for Karen.

 

 

 

 

 

This is done with pencil, pencil crayons and that's all. It's drawn from life - I saw the snowdrop she was drawing in its little box.
This is done with pencil, pencil crayons and that’s all. It’s drawn from life – I saw the snowdrop she was drawing in its little box.

 

 

So, on Monday one of my Stitch n Bitch girls came over. She’s an artist too, but she does the most fabulous and detailed botanical drawings. This is the one she did of a snowdrop. (Lynnel Harlow, I hope you’re reading this. If so, can you pass the picture on to Fran, as Sandra promised to send her an example of her work but they didn’t give each other contact details!) Any imperfections are the scanner, not the picture.

I didn’t get the chance to look at the Diva Challenge because, as Sandra left, I raced to get ready to take previously mentioned elder daughter out for a meal to celebrate her birthday. We went to a place in Doncaster called LeLezar, a Turkish restaurant, and it was absolutely splendid. Cous cous, olives, a sort of ratatouille,  mini cheese and spinach pies, tsatsiki, hummus, haloumi, rocket, onion salad, mixed salad, lamb kebabs… This for two people.  However, I then ended it with Turkish coffee, notoriously strong, I know, but it was divine, even if I didn’t sleep for more than 20 minutes at a stretch all night. Serves me right, but it was worth it.

And when I got home the loved one was back, looking none the worse for his adventure in Llandudno.

So today is my chance to look at the Diva Challenge and it’s a goody. It’s Amanda Day (Earth Day to everyone else but…) So we’re doing Earth Day related work today and mine is….

I decided to use the earth's strata as my basis and then tried to choose patterns appropriately, so we have Fescu for the growing things, Yuma for all the seeds under the surface, DL Sunray to look like caves, Sandswirl for all the ammonites buried in teh ground, Featherfal for the many fossils there are and Dugwud for the coal deposits. And, of course Ing for the fault.
I decided to use the earth’s strata as my basis and then tried to choose patterns appropriately, so we have Fescu for the growing things, Yuma for all the seeds under the surface, DL Sunray to look like caves, Sandswirl for all the ammonites buried in teh ground, Featherfal for the many fossils there are and Dugwud for the coal deposits. And, of course Ing for the fault.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Reconnecting

  1. Am I missing something or can I assume the ellipses at the end of this post mean to check back later for your Diva’s Earth Day challenge tile?

    Social media, especially Facebook, has also resulted in me finding some long lost friends and many of us from our high school graduating class, in some year also shrouded by the mists of time, have reconnected via FB. It’s actually quite amazing. Ditto for my college friends. I’ll actually be seeing many of them IRL (in real life) in June when we attend our 40th (gulp!) college graduation reunion in Williamstown, Massachusetts.

    Yes, of course, I tangle while “watching” television. We usually record the shows we want to watch, so we can zip through them without the commercials. This means there’s no “down time” during which I can pay attention to my tangles. Actually, what usually happens is that I’m paying attention to my tangling and I lose track of the plot and have to ask my husband to back it up so I can figure out what’s going on. I actually find the “tangling while watching TV” thing works best for my political junkie shows since listening to talking heads doesn’t require visual enhancement.

  2. I watch ‘Say yes to the dress’ sometimes (Yes, it is on TV in the Netherlands too) and indeed you wonder about a lot of things. You can just sit in your chair and let it pass and …. give a lot of comment on everything.
    Next week my ‘loved one’ will go to UK for a week to visit his daughter and I’m looking forward to being on myself for some days. Just do whatever whenever I want too without thinking about him. Know what I mean?
    Your Amanda Day piece is very pretty!

  3. Hey, Maggie! Your post was very fun to read as usual…loved all the stenciled items. You are becoming very proficient with those Sakura brush pens. Can’t wait to hear and see more. I will make sure Fran at Stampendous gets the picture of Sandra’s snowdrop. Tell Sandra from me that I think it’s gorgeous. Your Earth/Amanda Day tile is genius…warm earth tone strata was very very clever. What did you use for coloring?

    1. Hi Lynnel, thank you for all your kind remarks. They’re your stencils, of course they’re good! And thank you for passing on Sandra’s picture to Fran. As for the background of my Amanda Day tile, I used Promarkers.

  4. Reading your blog is like going on an adventure. So glad you met up with your friend after so long. The artwork made beautiful eye candy for your post and love your earth day tile. I’m kind of partial to the cats.

Leave a Reply

