Visiting Mum

Last week's Square One focus was on Oof. Not a favourite, as I tend to try to make it symmetrical and I can't. Finally managed to relax into it and found myself with something I quite like.
Last week’s Square One focus was on Oof. Not a favourite, as I tend to try to make it symmetrical and I can’t. Finally managed to relax into it and found myself with something I quite like.

Last week was my mother’s birthday – she would have been 98 had she still been with us. My Dad predeceased her by about fifteen years and when he died, she and I decided that he would be cremated and his ashes scattered in one of his favourite places, up on the moors in Derbyshire. At the time, she told me that she would like to do the same when her time came and we did exactly that, in a spot on the edge of the moor, overlooking a beautiful valley, near a stile. ( We did wait until she had passed away, I hasten to add!)

The weather wasn't all that clear today but it's still a lovely, if slightly moody place/
The weather wasn’t all that clear today but it’s still a lovely, if slightly moody place/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And when the heather, which my Mum loved, is in bloom, the colours are amazing.
And when the heather, which my Mum loved, is in bloom, the colours are amazing.

It’s a peaceful place but one where walkers like to pause and enjoy the view for the moment, so Mum and Dad are often in the company of like minded folk.

We visit every now and then for a brief chat and a few moments of calm. It isn’t a sad occasion but a thoughtful one and the loved one and I went today, not on her birthday, as the weather was appalling, but the day after. It’s a pleasant, easy walk across fields and through some woodland and then you’re up on the moor. I pointed out the spot where I want my ashes to go when the time comes but got a bit unnerved by the speculative look in his eye at that point so we went to the pub for a late lunch.  He looked a little less threatening after a steak and a pint at the Wheatsheaf in Baslow, another nice place to spend some time, by the way.

When we got back, I looked at my blog and found a comment from my American friend Lynnel, who, you may remember, I met up with a few weeks ago. It led me to her blog and I read through the most recent posts, catching up, so to speak and I’m putting a link in here, if I can work out how to do it. http://www.dreamweaverstencils.blogspot.co.uk/ She really has some fascinating ideas and gives step by step instructions too. She also has a spot for people to link in their own work and I’m going to add to it this week. Her theme is Spring and I haven’t decided how to represent it yet , so watch this space.

LATER

Well the first attempt turned out a bit drab. I was going for a Spring evening but it didn’t quite make it. Another one for the charity shop, I think.

I used Promarker pens to colour in the landscape first and then patterned it with Pigma Micron 1 and some odd bits with Gelly Roll pens.
I used Promarker pens to colour in the landscape first and then patterned it with Pigma Micron 1 and some odd bits with Gelly Roll pens.
For a first attempt, I was quite pleased with this, even if it isn't quite symmetrical.
For a first attempt, I was quite pleased with this, even if it isn’t quite symmetrical.

But then I saw a tutorial on Pinterest for how to draw a butterfly and I did this as an experiment and, since it reminds me of Spring, I might use it. But then I thought, no, butterflies are Summer, it would be caterpillars in Spring and that’s how we ended up with…

I think this will go on thr front of a birthday card for a friend.
I think this will go on the front of a birthday card for a friend.

 

And the Square One focus is now Mooka. My Nemesis. (Well, one of several Nemesises, now I come to think of it. In fact, there are more Nemesiseseses than patterns I feel confident with. Dammit!)  I tried allsorts to get an even, flowing, Mooka, full of motion and so on. Fah! You heard me, FAH! This was disaster. Look at these…

S1 Mooka 2 S1 Mooka 3 S1 Mooka 4

I mean, Oh dearie me, what am I doing here? Full of ideas but getting nowhere. So I gave myself a mental shake and tried again, slowly and, as they say, with feeling. And finally, I got something that actually resembled Mooka. Huzzah!!

S1 Mooka

Can’t wait for Diva Day…

LATER

And I like it – use a spiral as your string. Hmmmmm…

 

Well, being me, I went at it a bit sideways and used several spirals but – here it is for this week, see you next week.

Just three patterns - Henna Drum, Organza and Bunzo.
Just three patterns – Henna Drum, Organza and Bunzo.

P.S. And then I thought, you know what, it isn’t much of a spiral really, so I tried again…

Just three patterns - Bunzo, Mooka, while I'm on a roll, and a sort of minimalist Fengle in the middle.
Just three patterns – Bunzo, Mooka, while I’m on a roll, and a sort of minimalist Fengle in the middle.

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Visiting Mum

  1. saw your card on dream it up and was attracted to it as i am just starting to get into zentangle. loved reading your about your journey to a spring tangle lol. i was quite attracted to your water scene – the blues really caught my eye and as i live by the ocean anything water is attracting haha. very very nice work. thanks

  2. Quite an impressive amount (and quality) of production. I think you nailed both the spiral and mooka with your last one.

    My mother “celebrated” her 90th birthday last week. She is in pretty good shape and health, but is missing my father and many of her friends who have passed on ahead of her. My father wanted to be cremated, but that’s about all we knew. He thought he had another five years when he was in renal failure and none of us had the heart to tell him differently. He figured it out on his death bed—and said his proper good-byes. (OK, this is getting a little morbid and all you were looking for was a comment on your ZIA’s, but you brought it up, so…… I ended up keeping my father’s ashes in the box from the funeral home in a secretary (desk) I inherited from my grandmother (his mother). My plan is for us all to have our ashes stowed there (unless someone expresses another wish). My older son wants to know what he’s supposed to do with a secretary full of ashes of the dear departed. My response: “Not my circus. Not my monkeys.”)

Leave a Reply

