All sorts of stuff this week,

 

The Square One focus pattern was Bunzo, which I've always chickened out of before. Generally speaking, if I try to fill in a black area, the white around it gets smaller and smaller.
The Square One focus pattern was Bunzo, which I’ve always chickened out of before. Generally speaking, if I try to fill in a black area, the white around it gets smaller and smaller.

My Stitch and Bitch girls started as two – Sandra and me. It was just an excuse to keep making the effort and not lose touch after Sandra stopped working at the College. As other people we were fond of left work, we absorbed them into the group and it became us two and Jan and Pat and Shirley and my mum. When I finished working at the College, another good friend finished at the same time and joined us, Janet.  Then Alison, Ann, Jenny, Ann and Lorna joined us over time. We meet about once a month at the house of one of the group, different each time,  for an afternoon and sometimes we actually stitch. As time goes on, finding a day we can all get together gets harder. So someone misses out.

Stamped with a hand made stamp and ready to colour.
Stamped  at my Zentangle class with a hand made stamp and ready to colour.

 

I had a surprising amount of fun with this one, another for the Square One focus, this time using strircles.
I had a surprising amount of fun with this one, another for the Square One focus, this time using strircles.

This week I had set up an extra session to do some Zentangle. Not everyone is interested so I just said, this date, my house, lunch followed by tangling – come if you want. So far, I have changed the date four times. I tried to suit everyone, I really did. I think I’m going to get a bit executive about it and say, whoever is host next should set the day and time and those who can make it will and those who can’t will manage the next one.

So we had a little tangle time together – just five of us. Sandra doesn’t enjoy it, so she brought along a botanical drawing she has been working on of a snowdrop. It’s a real labour of love and I can’t wait to see the finished version. The rest of us coloured some templates I made, which took much longer than I expected because my friends are perfectionists and wanted the blending just so, no matter how many times I pointed out they were going to pattern over it, the colour is just a background, but no, we were going for Michaelangelo rather than South Park… I tried, I really did.

We then practised some new patterns – Jessicup, Jalousie, Henna Drum, Pokeroot/leaf, Heartstrings and Knot Rix, which had a couple of heads spinning but we made it. We looked at how to do a ribbon wrap and intertwined vines and then we were exhausted and had some more cake. Anyway, everyone went home promising to finish their pieces and let me have a picture of them, which I’ll share as soon as possible.

On Saturday my elder daughter, my son and his partner and their baby daughter came for a meal and Isla, the baby, chewed everything, including my daughter’s dog, who didn’t mind at all and treated the babe like a bald puppy. They got on very well, although the adults were all on tenterhooks because you hear such awful stories about apparently harmless dogs savaging babies. However, apart from a hefty dose of face licking, which made her giggle, Isla was just fine, never knowing that five of us were watching like hawks, ready to rescue. Eventually Kitty, who is a huge dog, just lay down and Isla tried to pick her spots off. Highly entertaining.

And then it was Sunday and an all day Zentangle class with a REAL CZT. It was fabulous.

I used Spectrum Noir pencils and blending fluid for the colour and I quite like the result.
I used Spectrum Noir pencils and blending fluid for the colour and I quite like the result.

We started with a Zendala, using proper Zentangle preprinted tiles and it was a joy. Very fine work and it took some concentration but we really did enjoy it. Zen stamp brown

We then made our own stamps using some weird foam and stamped them four times to make a larger area, which, after taking what seemed like hours to dry, we filled some areas with patterns. The blue piece at the top of the page is made from another stamp but I haven’t patterned it yet. I couldn’t wait to get home and try some more of these.  What’s more, we have already discussed some future projects for the class and I am so excited I may have to go and have a lie down.

And now my craft room is full of bits of paper and test pieces and who knows what else and I’m going to have to clear it up. AGAIN.

Blue ZIAOh yes, and I finally finished a ZIA I started a while ago and lost interest. The basic shapes didn’t look right. Fortunately, being mean, I didn’t throw it away because it’s on rather expensive paper, so I got it out again the other night and virtually completed it. It’s not entirely to my liking but the addition of colour has improved it a bit. I’m going to give it to my friend to have framed for her charity shop. If she gets a couple of quid for it, I’ll be happy.

And it’s Diva Day. I’m going on to the blog now to see if this week’s Challenge is there yet. Could life get any better?

And the Challenge this week is to go green, spring is in the air and green is the colour. I had a quick look at a couple who had already posted their responses and there are quite a few references to St Patrick’s Day, which really doesn’t work for me. But… My mum’s birthday was 17th March – St Patrick’s Day – and my son’s is today, so for both of them, as their  favourite drink is/was tea, we have here  a green cup, possibly of green tea. I drew the template of cup and saucer a few weeks ago but the colour and patterning are today’s.

Coloured with Promarker pens for background, Gelly Rolls for detail and, of course, Pigma Micron for the patterns.
Coloured with Promarker pens for background, Gelly Rolls for detail and, of course, Pigma Micron for the patterns.

‘Bye for now world, see you next week.

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “All sorts of stuff this week,

  1. Most people who are drinking on Saint Patrick’s Day aren’t drinking green tea (more like green beer), but whatever floats your boat (as it were) as long as it’s green. I truly admire your dedication to your crafts. I dare not add another now because, apparently, I have an addictive personality when it comes to creating things when I’m supposed to be creating other things — like for work.

  2. Wow, Maggie…I actually read your blog twice because there was so much to take in! You have been very busy since you’ve been home! I love all your pieces but I think the one with the turquoise/blue is my favorite to date. Loving the green for the celebration of the Irish and of course the birthdays of your loved ones…green tea it is!!!

  3. Wow! What a beautiful selection of work. It looks like you have been really busy. I can just imagine the baby trying to pick the spots off of the dog. We have cats, so they aren’t nearly as accommodating with the kids, but we have one that has a black spot on his nose and one of the granddaughters tried to wash it off. Love to watch kids and animals. But back to your beautiful work….I would be hard pressed to find a favorite among them, so let’s just say that they are all wonderful. But of course, I do really love the tea cup that you created for the challenge. Great block of work!

Leave a Reply

