Mathoms

Mathom was the hobbit term for anything which they had no use for but was too good to throw away… Museums in the Shire were called Mathom-Houses.

FRIDAY

I sometimes feel I have a house full of them. I planned, today, to clear a few mathoms from my crafting area, once the spare bedroom but God forbid anyone would ever need to sleep there. I have a box, in fact, two boxes, of unfinished projects and I’m going to go through them, ruthlessly, assess whether or not I will ever complete them and either

A – Do it.

B. Chuck ’em.

(There is, of course, a C option, which is to put them back in the box for another time. Trying to avoid that one.)

It is now 11.24 and so far I have filed my nails, waxed my eyebrows, had a shower and watched ZZ Top on Sky Arts. (I’d have watched anything that was on rather than get on and do it, X Factor, anything but, in fact, I thoroughly enjoyed ZZ Top! Didn’t expect to find myself saying that but…) If I stretch out making lunch, it’ll be too late to start today, won’t it?

Oh, and I scanned a couple of bits onto PC, which I will show you and that will be another avoidance tactic.

I did this one for Square One on Facebook. The focus tile was Rixty, which I really like but I couldn't think of a nice way of integrating it. In the end I used String 140 from Tanglepatterns.com and went for patterns I've hardly ever used.
I did this one for Square One on Facebook. The focus tile was Rixty, which I really like but I couldn’t think of a nice way of integrating it. In the end I used String 140 from Tanglepatterns.com and went for patterns I’ve hardly ever used.

Zentangle-wise, this has been a busy week. I’m still experimenting with white on black and becoming a bit more confident, to such an extent that I posted my latest one on a couple of Facebook groups I follow and, to my intense delight, they have used it as the page cover for this week. (For the Love of Doodle, if you’re a FB sort of person.) I’m still trying different ideas for my friend’s birthday – it’s not until mid February so still a little time to come up with some novel ideas, maybe.

The final versio
The final version

This one just leapt out at me and every decision I made turned out to be a right one. It’s not often I really like a finished product but I’m quite happy with this. Wow.  I used two different white pens and shaded with a soft white sketching pencil and that weird marble thing from Zentangle. (Zenstone) Patterns used: Zinger, Waax, Heartrope and Heartstrings. The flowers are just flowers to fill the space.

SUNDAY

Don’t ask about the mathoms. They are still in the boxes, although I’ve had them out, given them a good dose of looking at and put them back to give myself time to make decisions. Yesterday my cousin and fellow crafter came over for the afternoon. We sent the men out into the cold to find appropriate places of refreshment and she and I sat down to make a card from a video I had seen on YouTube. Needless to say, neither of us followed the instructions exactly because that’s not what it’s about, is it? Hers turned out OK, after a bit of juggling and some rude words but my now resides in the bin. Move on. Have I learned that there are instructions for a reason? Yes. Will it make any difference at all to how I do things in future? Silence, a drip falls in the bucket. (Sorry, brief quote from Pinter crept in there, a memory of my lost youth.)

Ann, my cousin, then mentioned a tile of mine that she had seen and I offered to show her how to do it. 20141216_160725This one, to be exact. It was the ribbon effect round the edge that she had wanted to learn and we had a happy hour practising and then doing the heart and the NZeppel fill.

You may have seen the Christmas ornaments I did for my friends at Stitch and Bitch but did not give because we had to cancel the pre- Christmas meet. Well, we intend to meet again next week, so I decided to wrap them in some nice gold lacy paper. It might not have been a good idea. Said wrapping was a sort of netting covered in glitter and, by the time I had wrapped one, I too was covered in glitter, like an adipose Christmas fairy. I wrapped nine and then needed a shower before I was fit to drive up to the pub to meet the boys and have a meal.

I also saw a Clarice Cliff plate on Pinterest and decided to do a tangled version as an experiment.

My take on Clarice Cliff. Almost happy with it, except for the sky. May take it out of the frame and give it a bit more attention.
My take on Clarice Cliff. Almost happy with it, except for the sky. May take it out of the frame and give it a bit more attention.

Here is the finished one, framed in a recycled frame. Almost, almost.

Anyway, back to the mathoms, you never know, I may have decided…

MONDAY (Diva Day)

To kill time until the diva Challenge appears, I’ve had another look at THEM, you know, the unmentionable Mathoms. And, and, and  for a while it looked like Option C but I’ve managed to rid myself of a couple of things that I really didn’t want to finish.

And then I checked I am The Diva and this week’s Challenge is already there. Excellent. Use tangle Athitzi on a tile. Better get going.

 

LATER

Phase 1 complete – but I went rather representational on this, so I may have another try using a string. However, I may also add a bit of colour to this.

DC 2002 Athitzi

 

And this is version two using a string from Tangle patterns.com.

Who can say how the mind works? Wasn't even sure which way is the right way up but this is how I drew it.
Who can say how the mind works? Wasn’t even sure which way is the right way up but this is how I drew it.
Tried for delicate colour but it looks a bit washed out.
Tried for delicate colour but it looks a bit washed out.

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Mathoms

  1. I love the Athitzi tiles. Color would be nice too as they already are more ZIA, I think. As far as your boxes of unfinished work, that’s normal for creative people. We don’t/can’t follow directions and nobody can make us. We enjoy the prep andplaying with the idea, but not following through, because it is the Process, not the Product that we enjoy. Zentangle is great for that, because it IS all about the process.

  2. I’m also in your Athitza tile camp that espouses the belief that they work both with and without color. I’m jealous that you have people who will actually “tangle” with you. I’ve only had a friend to tangle with IRL (in real life) once — last summer when another travel blogger/tangler from Canada visited. (Actually, her tiny long haired chihuahua is the travel blogger. http://www.boomeresque.com/montecristo-and-his-people-visit-brigantine-and-philadelphia/ I don’t know if you’re a dog person, but Montecristo is just too adorable.

    I’m worse than you with Mathoms in that I have them in more categories than just crafting. I seriously need to address those Mathoms lurking on top of my desk. I’m afraid that something important, that is in no way a Mathom, is lurking there — like a bill of some sort. (What a perfect word for what we’re avoiding).

    PS: If you are yearning for Spain, my latest blog post (before the Challenge response) is about Malaga.

  3. Magrat! Not Magrat Garlick? That’s delightful…and what a charming post! I’m sure you will get those Mathoms under control… adipose Christmas fairy indeed! hahahaha!
    I like both tiles, they are earthy and organic. Especially how leafy the one looks! Great job.

  4. Great post, lovely tiles – what a pleasure to join you in blogland! Have fun in Majorca and do let me know if you’re coming back to Andalucia sometime! Axxx

  5. A wonderful creative and entertaining Post. Thanks so much for sharing your creative efforts and terrific experiences. Love your Athitzi Tiles. You have the spirit of this pattern well in hand.

  6. Love your tiles. And especially the one with the hint of color. I like just the barest hint of color with Zentangle so the penwork stands out. I’m afraid I need to work on my Mathoms too…:)

Leave a Reply

