Christmas is Cancelled

Had a real glump on Christmas Eve and barely slept. My son was told he was out of a job a week before Christmas and I couldn’t stop thinking about how he must be feeling. However, he is remarkably resilient and is planning his job search ready for when places open after the holidays, so, after a shaky start, I pulled myself together, reminded myself that it isn’t about me and set about making it a good Christmas.

Do you remember I did a little pic for one of my closest friends for Christmas?

this is going to be a Christmas gift for a friend and she doesn't read my blog so it will be a surprise.

Well I did and she was very pleased, to such an extent that she has asked me to do one for her birthday. These are what I’ve come up with so far. (I’m going to let her choose which one she likes best.)

Version 3 and another colour way.
Version 2 and another colour way.
Third version, photocopied the original before colouring and then tried a different colour range.
Third version, photocopied the original before colouring and then tried a different colour range.
Original version. Birdcage stamp and Microns for the dangles, filled with a right old mix of pens for colour.
Original version. Birdcage stamp and Microns for the dangles, filled with a right old mix of pens for colour.

And it has been a good Christmas, so far. Managed to get everyone together on Boxing Day for a walk in the park, lunch in the pub and an evening meal of sandwiches, salads and pickles at our house. Three and a half kids going slightly mad with all the toys, (Well the littlest is only six months old so currently classes as half.) Eight adults eating too much, talking too loud and appearing slightly drunk in spite of the fact that, since most of them were driving, not a drop passed our lips.

And then it started to snow. In England we don’t cope well with snow. It’s never enough to need snow chains and the like but it can be enough to bring the roads to a standstill. And it did. Wet, slushy snow, deep and slippy. My son decided to head for home, some 40 miles away, with an agreement that if it was too bad, he would come right back and we would all hunker down at our house. (Only four bedrooms but three sofas and plenty of floor, we could do it.) Our friend, who lives 20 miles in the opposite direction and who drives what I consider to be a kiddie car – alright, it’s a Smart car, but really, why would you? – also decided she had better go before it was really bad.

The loved one and I, with our daughter, husband and four year old, sat over the phone waiting for them to call to say

 

a. they needed help

b. they were home

It took our son almost two hours and he said it was treacherous the whole way.

Our friend gave up, having virtually picked up the car under her arm and carried it, she got less than a mile and decided to stay at her mother’s instead. Sighs of relief all round.

So we put Ben to bed and sat watching BDTV  for a couple of hours. ( Brain Dead Television. It’s compulsory, you know, at this time of year.) And I had a little play with my new Derwent Inktense pencils. AND – wait for it, my new Sakura Gelly Roll Moonlight pens. I was as excited about that as Ben was with his toy cars, Dr Who Cyberman outfit and tablet all rolled into one. And now a little confession- I know you won’t tell anyone – I’m making some Christmas baubles for my girlfriends from Stitch and Bitch. Not for next Christmas, this Christmas. I didn’t get them made in time and then we didn’t all get to meet up before the holidays began, so I’m still making them but I’m going to pretend they would have been ready if we had been able to meet. Don’t say a word.

So here they are, ready for our next Stitch and Bitch get together.

Snowman and holly or peace and poinsettia. Depends on your preference
Snowman and holly or peace and poinsettia. Depends on your preference
Snowman  and holly fronts or reverse? Who can say?
Snowman and holly fronts or reverse? Who can say?

 

 

Yellow and terracotta reverse sides
Yellow and terracotta reverse sides
Yellow and Terracotta fronts
Yellow and Terracotta fronts

 

Pink and orange reverse sides
Pink and orange reverse sides
Pink and orange fronts
Pink and orange fronts

 

Aqua and multi reverse sides
Aqua and multi reverse sides
Aqua and multi fronts
Aqua and multi fronts

 

Green and blue 1 fronts
Green and blue 1 fronts
Green and blue 1 reverse sides
Green and blue 1 reverse sides

 

I find it bizarre that working to a deadline is more likely to slow me down than get me motivated. Anyway, they are done now, so on with the next project(s).

It was Ben’s fifth birthday on the 27th and the plan had been to take him to a toy shop to spend his Christmas money but the weather scuppered that idea. Instead, we played games and had a picnic lunch of hotdogs and birthday cake. (Don’t give me THAT look, healthy eating went out the window at the beginning of December and the only fruit we’d seen for weeks was in Christmas cake or a slice of lemon and an olive in the occasional drink. It’s a wonder we didn’t develop scurvy.)

And he played in the snow.

Couldn't keep him still long enough for a good photo.
Couldn’t keep him still long enough for a good photo.
He thought we'd arranged it specially and we didn't disabuse him of the idea.
He thought we’d arranged it specially and we didn’t disabuse him of the idea.
He doesn't see much snow so Ben was in Heaven when it snowed for his birthday.
He doesn’t see much snow so Ben was in Heaven when it snowed for his birthday.

New Year was good too. My cousin, a fellow crafter and very talented creator of cards, and her husband, a football fan but OK apart from that, came and stayed overnight. Our next door neighbours came for the evening and, since she too is a cardmaker and her husband is a sports enthusiast, we all got on like the proverbial house on fire; ate huge quantities of home roast ham, salads, pickles and home made bread, drank sensibly and wished each other joy at midnight.

I’ve been doing some drawing, of course and these are the two latest attempts:

White on black with Gelly roll pens to add a little colour and sparkle.
White on black with Gelly roll pens to add a little colour and sparkle.

SAM_7797

 

 

And that’s it. All that was left was to wait for Diva Day.

MONDAY 5th January.

Off we go with the first Diva Challenge of 2015. It’s a pattern I haven’t tried before and quite a pretty one. Hitchen .  Like a lot of the ribbon patterns, it can look a bit scrappy, or it can when I do it, so I did it big and bold across the middle.  Patterns used – Hitchen, Barberpole, Footlites, Riki Tiki, Paradox and??? It seemed to work, so it’ a Happy New Year from me!

 

This is upside down from the way I drew it bit it really doesn't matter.
This is upside down from the way I drew it bit it really doesn’t matter.

 

11 thoughts on “Christmas is Cancelled

  1. Well, that’s not very nice, laying off people (making them redundant) right before Christmas! However, it sounds like you raised your son to be resilient. I actually thought this week’s Diva’s challenge was about resiliency because HeidiSue described “Hitch” as having been born of a mistake trying to do a Celtic Cross. It sounds like you managed to rise above your grumps and have a good old time with family and friends. I’m looking out at snow coming down as I write this and I’m very happy not to have to drive in it nor have any loved ones driving in it. One kid is currently in Manila in the Philippines, so I’m pretty sure about him not driving in any snow. (PS: If you are one of my loved ones and are reading this—don’t tell me if you’re driving in the snow). It sounds as though you’ve been having a crafty time and your “hitch” tile works really well. Some “betweed” also managed to sneak into mine. Don’t worry about me spilling the beans about the ornaments for your “Stitch and Bitch” group. My lips are sealed here — all the way across The Pond. Happy New Year.

  2. What a great post! Your little round paper ornaments are very nice. I’ll want to look for some for next Christmas. I ended up making some porcelain tangled ornaments for people this year, that was fun. I also love it that your boy got snow on his Birthday, even though it stopped everything in its tracks! Anyway, your art is wonderful. The piece you repeated on black is very special. Love the swirls of fabricky looking in that one! It’s very Christmasy!
    And the Hitched piece is so cool…such wonderful shapes and textures. Love your use of footlights with hitched, and the stripey stuff in there. Fun to look at

  3. Dear Maggibee..

    I am sorry to read that your son was laid off a week before Christmas. I admire his resiliency, and also his positive-mindedness 🙂 I am glad it did not mar his Christmas spirit and that all your loved ones are safe despite the heavy snow.

    Happy 2015, blessed year ahead.
    May your son find a better job than his last! 🙂

    Debbie

  4. Wonderful Post. I was amazed at your wonderful Ornaments. Beautiful work and and so much creativity. Your Hitched challenge piece is terrific. Loved your tangleation of HeidiSue’s pattern. Great shading.

Leave a Reply

