The Heat is on

Hello world, here we are again. The heat is on both figuratively and in reality. That is to say, the heating is on; the windows are closed and we’ve begun our hibernation in earnest. Snow? Nah. Gales and blizzards? Nah. Mist, drizzle and murk? Yup, that’s the one. The day starts grey, in fact you can hardly tell it’s started at all, and then it brightens enough to fool you into thinking you’ll go out. Wrong. Cold, miserable and damp.  And we are now officially in the run up to Christmas. As a result, I have discovered what I already knew, that the cards I have been making since last January will not be enough. (Here are a few of the more recent ones.)

Another Joanne
This is just the topper ready to go on the card, extensively borrowed from Joanne Fink.
SAM_7729
Based on an idea in my craft class, where we did a card using three trees to hold top and bottom of the front together. On this one I backed the tree with acetate to give it a bit of strength.

SAM_7728                                                           SAM_7727

These two were both from craft class. Very simple but, I think, effective.

A couple of friends came round the other day and one of them brought me some boxes to decorate if I wanted to. Here’s the lid of the first one.

Box lid It’s about five inches square.

However, I have started another project for Christmas, although it may not be ready for THIS Christmas, but we can hope. It’s based on a photo I saw on Facebook of a picture by a lady called Diane Vienneau.  Isn’t it great? So I thought I’d try one. I’ve messaged her on FB to ask if she minds my sharing her work on here and she says OK, so I know she won’t mind and I just want to share her wonderful work.

I’ve only got as far as the main outline plan.

And this is the finished version, framed and done. Not a patch on the original, I admit, but it's probably one of the best things I've done so it deserves its place on the dining room wall.
And this is the finished version, framed and done. Not a patch on the original, I admit, but it’s probably one of the best things I’ve done so it deserves its place on the dining room wall.
Main features in place and then some alcohol markers to colour a general background. I'll use Gelly Roll pends to fill in the rest and add detail, plus some sparkle and Liquid Pearls.
Main features in place and then some alcohol markers to colour a general background. I’ll use Gelly Roll pens to fill in the rest and add detail, plus some sparkle and Liquid Pearls.

You can see all my scribbling on the left hand side, where I noted ideas before I forgot. If it’s good enough, it may even go on the wall.

Speaking of “if it’s good enough…”  I started a big name plate thing for my son and his family some time ago, using Joanne Fink monogram patterns and a Zentangle border. I’ve worked on it on and off for months but lost interest and have just finished it in time to give it for Christmas. It’s wrapped and ready and yet, and yet. Alright, I’ll ‘fess up, I don’t want it to be one of those things they put on the wall if they know I’ll be coming round, just to please me. (Bloody vanity –  I should be grateful they care enough not to want to hurt my feelings.) Well, this is it in its finished form and  I won’t be there to see them open it, so I’ll never know, will I?

So many ways I could have done it better.
So many ways I could have done it better.

I have a Zentangle class tomorrow and am looking forward to it. At the last one, we drew a leaf, divided it into sections and started filling it with patterns. For homework – homework, would you believe? – we were to finish the patterns and take it back tomorrow to do a sort of background or frame.  So this is what it looks like today and we’ll see how different it is tomorrow.

I've bought a frame for this too, although it still needs a little work on the black smudgy
I’ve bought a frame for this too, although it still needs a little work on the black smudgy
In my eyes the veins in the leaves are too  thick but i can fill them with patterns too, maybe.
In my eyes the veins in the leaves are too thick but I can fill them with patterns too, maybe.

Sunday evening.

Been to my Zentangle class. Was it great? Oh yes it certainly was. We did white on black, which was not a complete success but I do feel I learned a lot. See above for the virtually finished leaf and then we did two tiles, see below, and a Christmas Star, using mica powder to colour. It’s much more luminous in reality than it looks here but you get the idea. That’s mica powder added to my Christmas list.

And a new pattern here but can't remember what it's called.
And a new pattern here but can’t remember what it’s called.
Three new patterns tried here but I've forgotten their names already. Durr!
Three new patterns tried here but I’ve forgotten their names already. Durr!
Really loved doing this one.
Really loved doing this one.

The white on black is tricky because of the way the ink goes on and shading is sort of in reverse, but not. Yes, well, that’s as clear as I can make it, so we’ll leave it there.

And finally, the Diva Challege. We were asked to use a doll as our string and I have to admit the first thing that came into my mind was Chocky. ( Sorry, apparently it was Chucky!)I trod temptation under foot, however, and ended up with an angel doll. Now I admit, she/he still looks more like an avenging angel than a guardian one but we are, after all, what we are.

DC 196 dollangel

17 thoughts on “The Heat is on

  1. Wow – what a true feast for the eyes here! It’s almost too easy to say I love it all – but I do like those very simple black and white cards – particularly the Jolly one! And the avenging angel…and the wreaths, and the leaves….well, yes, ALL of them! Axxx

  2. Wowza!! You have been a very busy tangling (Maggi)Bee. I feel my Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD) cranking up after a few dreary, cold days here on the other side of the Pond. (Would you believe that the year we lived in England (1969-70) when my father was an exchange teacher in Devizes, we didn’t have central heating!?!) I have yet to take/find a local Zentangle class. Yours seems to provide the inspiration for some beautiful work. I am very fond of angels. They usually make me feel happy, but the one you produced, while beautifully tangled, would definitely not be hung where I could see it right before closing my eyes to sleep. 😉

  3. Ah, Margaret, I would have loved to have seen your Chocky zentangle. Love all your work. So much this week. Your cards are very cool. And isn’t mica powder gorgeous stuff?

  4. All of your work is very well done. I like your angel, very gothic looking to me and since in our family, we are pretty much into gothic type things, it really appealed to me. Beautiful answer to the challenge this week!

  5. I love your angel! The wings are breathtaking. I love the contrast of dark with the ethereal nature of the gown. Chucky would have been an interesting inspiration too! Challenges are just starting points for our own imaginations. It’s always fun to see where they take us. Thank you for playing with my challenge this week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

