Going into hibernation.

When I agreed to work at the College I’ve been with for the past couple of years, I had been retired for about six months and wasn’t liking it much. Didn’t like housework – still don’t – and was, looking back on it, mildly depressed. so when my friend Debbie, by now Vice Principal at the college in question, asked me for help, it probably saved my sanity. And it earned me some pennies which have paid for a couple of holidays in warm and pretty places.

The college, however, is about 20 miles away, which doesn’t sound much, but there have been ongoing roadworks on the motorway throughout the time I’ve been working there, which reduces the speed at which I can travel and, to make it worse, if you don’t get there before 08.00 each day, there is nowhere left in the car park and you wander round the town centre wasting time petrol and patience. (The latter is in particularly short supply where I am concerned.)

So I set off about 7.00 to be sure of getting a parking space and leave about five, getting home about six. At this time of year it means driving there and back in the dark on very busy roads, which I don’t enjoy, so I’ve decided to hibernate. No more work until March. When I told them, I got some funny looks but there was a fair amount of amusement at the thought of me emerging from my cave in March, grumpy and sleepy, like a Yorkshire grizzly.  I didn’t spoil the illusion by telling them about the planned visits to Spain, Tenerife, Cyprus and Majorca over the next four months. Might send them a postcard, just to rub it in. Oh, naughty old me!

Apart from going away once or twice, what have I got planned? Family visits. Going to see my son and his family today, in fact. Plenty of time to cuddle the baby and play with the bigger two. I have booked another Zentangle class at the end of November, must do my homework first!  Our daughter and son in law, plus adorable Ben, will be with us over Christmas. Our other daughter and her dog, Kitty, believe it or not, will join us too.

And crafts. At present I am knitting a sort of stole thingy – although I CAN knit to a proper pattern, I lose patience easily, so this is just a straight piece in fluffy wool;  I am making Christmas cards for family and friends and maybe some for my daughter to sell if I ever get round to sending them to her; here are some of the most recent ones;

 

I downloaded this from joanne Fink design from Pinterest, printed it in a pale ginger colour and then tangled it to within an inch of its life!
I downloaded this from  a Joanne Fink design on Pinterest, printed it in a pale ginger colour and then tangled it to within an inch of its life!
Glossy Accents on the berries and a very simple card is complete.
Glossy Accents on the berries and a very simple card is complete.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Based on a YouTube tutorial by Shoobeedoodling - much, much easier than I expected.
Based on a YouTube tutorial by Shoobeedoodling – much, much easier than I expected.
This was a YouTube video tutorial either from Shoo Rayner or Miraculous Mosquito - both worth a look.
This was a YouTube video tutorial either from Shoo Rayner or Miraculous Mosquito – both worth a look.

 

this is from a YouTube tutorial by a chap called Shoo Rayner, look up Shoobeedoodling, he's great.
This is from a YouTube tutorial by a chap called Shoo Rayner, look up Shoobeedoodling, he’s great.
This was just a scribble that turned out better than expected. I'm putting some Glossy Accents on the berries and maybe washing the leaves with a little water to intensify the colour a bit.
This was just a scribble that turned out better than expected. I’m putting some Glossy Accents on the berries and maybe washing the leaves with a little water to intensify the colour a bit.

I still haven’t finished the big name plate for my son and his family; I still haven’t done all the little trinket boxes for my Stitch and Bitch buddies for Christmas and, above all, there will be more drawing, especially Zentangle.  Winter’s looking all too short to fit it all in. That’s the way, aha, aha,  I like it aha, aha… (Music fade out.)

 

One thought on “Going into hibernation.

Leave a Reply

