Sitting in a bar again.

Its not the same bar, obviously, but it’s a bar. Waiting for paella this time. Still in the sun, well, even better, in the shade. Only the English feel it’s decadent to sit in the shade, as if we’re wasting sunshine. So many bars, so little time.

20141018_141810This one is in Santa Eularia, Ibiza. Nice paella. And this one is in  Ibiza Town , just coffee. And then the one through the trees, with the red chairs is in Portinatx. Excellent steak sandwiches. SAM_7560 SAM_7612 There were more but I’m sure you’re starting to get the picture. (Get the picture! Get it?)

 

Sorry.

 

20141018_122840

This morning we have been into Ibiza Town and had a walk round the castle and the old town. When you see the pictures you will see why it is magical.

The old theatre in Ibiza Town, half the roof appears to be missing round the back but, hey, it's always warm.
The old theatre in Ibiza Town, half the roof appears to be missing round the back but, hey, it’s always warm.
the loved one says he gets used to being in a picture just to give it scale.
the loved one says he gets used to being in a picture just to give it scale.

 

So we went into the Old Town, which consists mainly of steps, all of them going up.

even the loved one was appalled when he saw these.
even the loved one was appalled when he saw these.
But just to prove we climbed them all, here's what they look like from the top.
But just to prove we climbed them all, here’s what they look like from the top.
And this is the top of the NEXT flight.
And this is the top of the NEXT flight.
And this was the view. We spent a while looking at it, just to get our breath back.
And this was the view. We spent a while looking at it, just to get our breath back.
Looking the other way from the top of the walls.
Looking the other way from the top of the walls.
Me taking a picture of him taking a picture of me...
Me taking a picture of him taking a picture of me…
And the flora that he was so taken with.
And the flora that he was so taken with.

 

You can see why we spend so much time in bars, we’re really just appreciating the view, nothing to do with alcohol at all.

Anyway, I took my sketchbook with me instead of Zentangle tiles and did a fair bit of drawing, mainly on the balcony in the evenings. I hadn’t been thrilled with my attempt at Yuma last week, so, when the Diva just asked for pink, I decided to try Yuma again but with pink highlights. I like it better than last week’s attempt but I’m not sure the pink improves it visually. Maybe it’s too delicate, a bit wishy washy.

Pinked.
Pinked.
Yuma, Pystyl and Lichen.
Yuma, Pystyl and Lichen.

 

The Facebook page Square One, Purely Zentangle, had us using Aquafleur, one of those tangles I like to see but I have trouble making it do my will. So here are my many attempts, some more successful than others, but you can’t say I’m not a tryer.

Aquafleur, Pendrils and Pystyl
Aquafleur, Pendrils and Pystyl
Fescu, Aquafleur (again) Crescent Moon and Sandswirl.
Fescu, Aquafleur (again) Crescent Moon and Sandswirl.

 

 

Not so much Aquafleur as Aquasquer!
Not so much Aquafleur as Aquasquer!
Just trying different ways with Aquafleur.
Just trying different ways with Aquafleur.

Aquafleur 1

 

And just before we went, I saw a thing on Youtube on a site called Shoobeedoodling. Lots of little tutorials on “How to draw…”. Now not all of them are to my taste but you will have gathered by now that I am the world’s worst draughtsman. Can’t draw a line without help and certainly couldn’t draw/paint anything representational. So here are two I did following the instructions on Youtube. Proud in spite of myself. Now I know, world, that you can do better, but for me, these are good.

 

Poinsettia

Using my sketching set from WHSmith.
Using my sketching set from WHSmith.

Well, that’s it for now. Sorry I dragged you through the photo album but somebody has to get it, it may as well be you. Goodnight world, it’s been a long day, 1500 miles and it feels like I’m still travelling.

 

5 thoughts on “Sitting in a bar again.

  1. Aww.. I thoroughly loved being ‘dragged’ through your gorgeous photos, if that was what it was!! Ibiza looks amazing, the sky is so blue, it has filled me with an all too familiar sense wanderlust! (Google: Singapore Haze )

    I really enjoy looking at all your ZIAs.. and I especially appreciate all the flowy, flowery and delicate lines that flow from your pen 🙂 Out of this bunch, Pinked and the tile with the Fescu and Crescent Moon were my favourites <3<3

    Sending the warmest wishes back across the miles to you ❤

  2. Thanks for sharing these photo’s and especially for your story next to it. I like the way you write. The zia’s are also very beautiful.

  3. Thoroughly enjoyed your photos and your lovely sketches – most inspired. I particularly like the Aquafleur ones you did that look a bit like balloons…really very nice indeed. Axxx

Leave a Reply

