Trying something different.

I’ve joined a Facebook group called Ornation Creation, which is both a good and a bad thing. It’s made up of people who want to share their work, much of it Zentangle oriented. (Good thing) They’re all very talented. (Less good, as my inferiority complex kicks in.) I really enjoy looking at their work and, where I can offer constructive criticism, I do. (Good thing.) I put some of my own work on there. (Not so good, as I always feel people are just being kind.) The guy who runs it puts a template up each week to be downloaded and either coloured or tangled, or both, if you feel like it. (A very good thing, as my penmanship is catastrophic.)

Now not everything on there is to my taste but some of the contributors are working at a similar standard to myself. (A good thing, as I don’t feel like a kid showing off to the grown ups so much.) But some of those people are artists. I mean ARTISTS! If you get the chance to look, go on, there is some stunning stuff.

Anyway, I did a couple of the templates recently and people were very nice about them, which smoothed my feathers, if nothing else. So I’m putting them on here too, along with this week’s Diva Challenge, which is all about your beverage of choice. Well, I’m English, dash it all, so it just had to be tea, didn’t it? The string is tea, the colours are tea and all the tangles used begin with T. Is that overkill?

 

For the diva Challenge 175.
For the diva Challenge 175. Tangles used – Twenty One, Trumpits, Twistee, Tra-La-La

And the ones from the templates were two fish, which I printed, coloured with water colour pencils and then tangled. Unfortunately, my printer is allergic to reds and warm colours generally, so the printed version is much duller than I intended.  I’m showing you both so you can see what I mean.

By the time I'd finished colouring, I could hardly see the lines to follow for the patterns but I'm not sure how much it matters.
By the time I’d finished colouring, I could hardly see the lines to follow for the patterns but I’m not sure how much it matters.
A bit disappointed with the colour.
A bit disappointed with the colour.

So, with the next one, I’m biting the bullet and tangling straight onto the coloured original. I hope I don’t make a mess of it, but, hey, it’s only paper…

I know the colouring is rough but I'm going to pattern over it with Micron pens.
I know the colouring is rough but I’m going to pattern over it with Micron pens.

You can see how good the templates are, can’t you? So I’m off to play with the fishes, more soon..

 

10 thoughts on “Trying something different.

  1. You are a Tea-ish person 🙂 lots of T’s, Tea and TEA. I like your tile, and the fish piece is awesome. Don’t be disapointed about the color, I think it is awesome. It makes just enough to make the shade in the fish’s body. I like it very much.

    1. thank you. I think the difficulty is partly that I had an idea of the finished look in my head and that’s not quite how it turned ou. But I must admit, the more I look at it, the less unhappy I am. And yes about the tea. i feel as though I’ve finally come out about my addiction…

  2. Your tea tangled tile (now, that’s a lot of T’s) is terrific (yes, I did that on purpose, but it is quite nice.) Ben does have some really nice templates. Good for you for just going with it even though some of the entries do boggle the mind. Yours is quite pretty. I love the colors also.

  3. I like your TEA Tile. Your pattern selections are perfect to keep the letters separated from the background pattern. Your fishes are very nice. Good job on everything. Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

