Twice as much fun.

On holiday on the Mediteranean island of Crete, I find myself sitting on the balcony of a small but very pleasant apartment listening to old favourites on my tablet. Vintage stuff, from the Beatles ( of course) the Beach Boys, Jerry Lee Lewis, Joni Mitchell, the Drifters, the Mamas and Papas, Roy Orbison and many more. No prizes for guessing my age, then.  We’re on the north coast,  in quite a small resort, called Gouves, and, it being quite early in the season, the weather is changeable. The resort is not as pretty as some of the places we’ve visited in Greece, although the coast itself is pretty. We are only yards from the sea and I do love being by the water.

This little church is a hundred yards or so from where we are staying.
This little church is a hundred yards or so from where we are staying.

The weather being, as I said, a bit changeable, I keep retreating to the balcony, either to shelter from the wind or to hide from the sun in the heat of the day. And what better way to spend the time than trying out some tangles? As I think I mentioned in a recent post, I’ve been looking at the work of Joanne Fink and if you haven’t looked at her Zenspirations blog, do. Being neither very original nor very good myself, I have been trying to imitate her style and it’s fun.

An idea "borrowed" from Joanne Fink. If only I could draw like she does.
An idea “borrowed” from Joanne Fink. If only I could draw like she does.

I’ve also started making toppers for Christmas cards, which is my pretence to be doing something useful. I’m using a mix of Joanne’s dangle technique, which is not as easy as it looks, and a few familiar Zentangles. In order to reduce bulk in my luggage, I packed a small set of water colour paints, rather than the Promarker pens I normally use but they don’t work as well. Perhaps it would be more truthful to say I am less skilful with them. Either way, I’m less than happy with the results, I think I’ll stick to drawing and do the colouring when I get home.

20140518_091503

The wording will be coloured gold eventually.
The wording will be coloured gold eventually.

However, what with relaxing in the sun, the occasional glass of wine and the joy of Zentangle, I don’t think I could be more relaxed and stay conscious! Happy days.

Leave a Reply

