Zentangles or doodles, that is the question.

While we’ve been on holiday, I’ve been practising Zentangles from the website:  http://tanglepatterns.com/category/a-tangles , which I can’t recommend highly enough. I hate to be as gushy as some of the contributors seem to be but it really is inspiring. And for people like me, who would like to be creative but just don’t have the drawing skills, it’s a godsend. Try it if you don’t believe me.

So I took some small squares of card to practise on and three fine-nibbed pens, a couple of pencils, an eraser and a sharpener. They don’t take up much space but they provided me with hours of entertainment.

Here, then, are some of the things I did.

Waiting for some colour.
Waiting for some colour.
The stamp again but this time they're definitely just doodles, not Tangles.
The stamp again but this time they’re definitely just doodles, not Tangles.
The greeting is a stamp but the stars and ribbon are drawn by hand.
The greeting is a stamp but the stars and ribbon are drawn by hand.

They are all based on a Woodware stamp I bought a few weeks ago and are in different stages of completion. The coloured ones use ProMarkers and I’m still getting to grips with shading techniques, as you can see.

An as yet unfinished piece that will eventually be a topper for a card.
An as yet unfinished piece that will eventually be a topper for a card.

SAM_6681

 

Both of the two above are unfinished and will need either colour or shading but will eventually become card toppers, like the others.

Experimenting with Tangles from the website.
Experimenting with Tangles from the website.

I wanted to try several Tangles together to see if I could come up with a unified design. It’s not there yet because the bottom two bits don’t really fit in with the rest but I’m not entirely unhappy with it.

Not yet finished - awaiting some shading, maybe some colour too.
Not yet finished – awaiting some shading, maybe some colour too.

Alright, this is an unashamed steal of someone else’s idea but I still like it and am looking forward to colouring it – if I ever decide what sort of a palette to use. I’ll put the finished product on here eventually and we’ll see how it goes.

In the end, this turned out better than i expected but I do wish I could actually draw.
In the end, this turned out better than i expected but I do wish I could actually draw.

This is perhaps just a bit TOO ambitious but it was worth a shot and I really enjoyed doing it, even if it’ll never be a work of art.

 

So, I’m off to try a few more. Have a look on the websites, I bet you’ll be blown away, like I was.

 

The Zentangle® art form and method was created by Rick Roberts and Maria Thomas and is copyrighted. Zentangle® is a registered trademark of Zentangle, Inc. Learn more atzentangle.com

 

2 thoughts on “Zentangles or doodles, that is the question.

  1. Your tangles are beautiful! I am not artistically inclined whatsoever, but when I found tangle patterns, I was hooked. I’ve been dabbling ever since, and it’s definitely been a great way to help me express myself artistically. You should look into the Diva Zentangle challenge. Every week she posts a new challenge and bloggers link up their creations. It’s totally a no pressure environment and a lot of the artists there have definitely inspired me.
    I can’t believe you are so new to Zentangle, though, because you have skills!! Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

