Finally getting things on the blog

I made a push today to get some more pictures of cards on the Card Gallery, with titles and little comments where possible.  In between doing this and shortening a dress and a pair of trousers, I’m making a card for my grandson, who has fallen off a climbing frame and broken his elbow. He lives 300 miles away so we don’t see much of him, so I wanted a special card. As I so often do, I came up with a grandiose idea and then had to work out how to get the effect I wanted. (A seaside scene, using a Molly Bloom stamp and some decoupage shells, beach huts, etc.)

So far, it’s looking ok  but I have to keep leaving it for glue to dry before I try the next bit. I started it using scraps of paper from previous projects but it’s a strange truth of card making that using leftover bits only makes MORE leftover bits. They’re like amoeba, they double every few seconds. My bit box is quickly outgrowing my craft room.

I really like the Magnolia and Molly Bloom stamps, although I don’t like it when they don’t have complete faces, so I always draw them on afterwards. Some stamps, like the owl and the little bird you can see in the Card Gallery, lend themselves to zentangling to fill them in and it makes a pleasant change from using the Promarkers, which is one of the most soothing pastimes I know.

Well, better go and see if the glue has dried, preferably without sticking the card to the table.

Leave a Reply

