Equal Opportunities

One of the pages on here is devoted entirely to my father’s journal and this seems to me to be a bit unfair on my mother, who was very creative and talented herself, though as a maker, rather than a writer. I have, therefore, added pictures of some of her work into the Stitch Gallery. Although some of the work there is my own, much of it, especially the cross stitch pieces, is hers.

Without exception, they hang in my home and are displayed with great pride. When she died, I gave many of them away to friends and family but I kept the ones I couldn’t bear to part with and they are some of what you see here.

This was not the limit to her skills. We weren’t exactly well off when I was a child and many of my clothes were home made. As a teenager, I managed to have up to date clothes because she had taught me how to make them and, when I had kids of my own, they too always had plenty to wear, usually made from remnants bought on Rotherham Market.

Even now, I have a huge box of fabric lengths in the cupboard under the stairs, waiting for me to one day get the urge to sew again. Soon, perhaps, but not quite yet…

Leave a Reply

